Skip to content

Ernst Reijseger – Feature (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Ernst Reijseger – Feature (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48kHz | Time – 01:02:21 minutes | 619 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz |  @ Winter & Winter GmbH
Recorded: All tracks except 11 and 13: Recorded at Evangelisch-Lutherse Kerk Haarlem, The Netherlands, June 2009/July 2010; Track 11 recorded at Gebouw ‘De Vereeniging’, Hilversum, The Netherlands, December 2011; Track 13 recorded at Bauer Studios Ludwigsburg, Germany, August 2014

Winter & Winter releases the album »Feature« to celebrate the 60th birthday of Ernst Reijseger.
On November 13th, 2014, the exceptional artist Ernst Reijseger celebrates his 60th birthday. Since 1997 Ernst Reijseger and Winter & Winter collaborate in an outstandingly creative working atmosphere. Reijseger has recorded 15 albums over the years as leader artist and he is part of six further productions. His recording oeuvre includes cello solo pieces, projects with the Voches de Sardinna, the cooperation with the group Groove Lélé from La Réunion, various soundtracks and sound art.

Zeniuk paints to Reijseger’s cello solo pieces with the title »Crystal Palace« seven new works. Along with seven single pressings of several of Reijseger’s pieces they form seven unique prints, which will be shown in autumn 2014 in the Winter & Winter showroom and in spring 2015 at Slewe Gallery in Amsterdam.

»Feature« presents as a new production key works like »Tell Me Everything« and «Elena«, recorded with the Turkish singer Ceylan Ertem, new pieces for Reijseger’s ensemble of five cellos, duets with Alan “Gunga” Purves as well as the pianist and organist Harmen Fraanje. Although this album was recorded in a time period, from June 2010 through to August 2014, »Feature« is a harmonious unit. All recordings were mixed and mastered by Adrian von Ripka, who works with Stefan Winter at the recording studio since 30 years and is realising Ernst Reijseger’s sound ideas in a perfect way.

The artistic work of Ernst Reijseger ranges between performance, recording art and sound installation. He dedicated himself with body and soul to the music, but his activity goes far beyond concert and club stages. He recognises the recording as something special that is not limited to only document performances, but also opens new artistic possibilities to create own sound images.

Ernst Reijseger, individualist, cellist, composer and performance artist, 1954 born in Naarden in the Netherlands, belongs to the most important artists of the contemporary music scene. His instrument is his voice. Since almost 20 years Reijseger works with producer Stefan Winter, together they build an exceptional canon. Stefan Winter: »He is one of the most amazing musicians who I ever met with and got acquainted. He speaks and sings through his cello, his instrument becomes part of his body and he pens works filled with highest musicality, beauty, pure elegance and sensitivity.«

1 For Pieter’s Birth 4:04
2 The Face Of God 8:58
3 Le Vieux Parle 2:20
4 Nightsky 2:31
5 Rainy Season 5:49
6 Made Of Light 1:26
7 The Big Country 2:36
8 Heaven On Earth 4:41
9 Incantation 2:05
10 The Touch 4:28
11 Elena 3:49
12 Holding Her First Balloon 2:21
13 Tell Me Everything 5:35
14 Mutation 6:26
15 Child’s Footprint 4:29

Ernst Reijseger, cello, mandolacello, tenor guitar
Sandip Bhattacharya, tabla
Luciano Biondini, accordion
Ceylan Ertem, voice
Harmen Fraanje, piano, church organ
Djoeke Klijzing, cello
Julie Läderach, cello
Bonno Lange, cello
Tom van Lent, cello
Alan “Gunga” Purves, percussion
Mola Sylla, voice, percussion


%d bloggers like this: