Skip to content

Eric Reed – For Such a Time as This (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Eric Reed – For Such a Time as This (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:08 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Smoke Sessions

For more than three decades, Eric Reed has been one of the most influential and beloved jazz musicians. He’s recorded close to 30 accomplished leader albums showcasing his virtuosic chops, intellectual clarity and unwavering will to swing. Most remarkable is his ability to refract and coalesce a wide range of musical, spiritual, and personal influences into a single stream of consciousness. This is perhaps the most personal of them all.

For Such a Time as This is a powerful and uplifting program framed by the realities of global pandemic anxiety, persistent racism and racial injustice, and an acrimonious, fraught Presidential election season. It was in Los Angeles in early 2020, when the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic triggered a city-wide shutdown, that Reed made the decision to record the album with local L.A. musicians. By the end of June, he was ready and had assembled a gifted, young quartet to record a set of recently penned originals, carefully chosen standard old chestnuts, and – as he has done regularly over the past 15 years – some restorative Gospel selections.

The group (drum virtuoso Kevin Kanner, Australia-born bassist Alex Boneham, tenor and soprano saxophonist Chris Lewis) nonetheless displays the chemistry of a long-established band. Reed’s original composition Make Me Better is sung by the soulful Henry Jackson, who “puts a fine point on everything I’m hoping and wishing for – that I will be made better by this experience, and that I will encourage other people to be better as well.”

“This record is the first I’ve done framed by this kind of specific circumstance,” Reed concludes. “But even though we had to do it with these pandemic restrictions, it seemed normal because we were in the recording studio, where there’s no audience anyway. It’s the circumstances surrounding the creativity that were so different. All of that had an impact on the music.” (Eric Reed)


01. Eric Reed – Paradox Peace
02. Eric Reed – Western Rebellion
03. Eric Reed – Thelonigus
04. Eric Reed – Stella by Starlight
05. Eric Reed – It’s You or No One
06. Eric Reed – Walltz
07. Eric Reed – Bebophobia
08. Eric Reed – Come Sunday
09. Eric Reed – We Shall Overcome
10. Eric Reed – Make Me Better
11. Eric Reed – The Break
12. Eric Reed – Hymn of Faith


%d bloggers like this: