Skip to content

Eric Clapton – Backless (1978/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Eric Clapton – Backless (1978/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time – 00:41:09 minutes | 1,63 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, fficial Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © RSO Records
Recorded: 1978

Backless is Eric Clapton’s sixth studio album and was originally released in November 1978. The album peaked at #8 on the Pop Albums chart, and the single “Promises” reached #9 on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart. It was produced by Glyn Johns.

Having made his best album since 461 Ocean Boulevard with Slowhand, Eric Clapton followed with Backless, which took the same authoritative, no-nonsense approach. If it wasn’t quite the masterpiece, or the sales monster, that Slowhand had been, this probably was because of that usual Clapton problem — material. Once again, he returned to those Oklahoma hills for another song from J.J. Cale, but “I’ll Make Love to You Anytime” wasn’t quite up to “Cocaine” or “After Midnight.” Bob Dylan contributed two songs, but you could see why he hadn’t saved them for his own album, and Clapton’s own writing contributions were mediocre. Clapton did earn a Top Ten hit with Richard Feldman and Roger Linn’s understated pop shuffle “Promises,” but it was not one of his more memorable recordings. Of course, Clapton’s blues playing on the lone obligatory blues cut, “Early in the Morning” (presented in its full eight-minute version on the CD reissue), was stellar. (Backless was his last album to feature the backup group that had been with him since 1974.) –William Ruhlmann

1 Walk Out In The Rain 4:17
2 Watch Out For Lucy 3:26
3 I’ll Make Love To You Anytime 3:24
4 Roll It 3:43
5 Tell Me That You Love Me 3:34
6 If I Don’t Be There By Morning 4:39
7 Early In The Morning 7:59
8 Promises 3:05
9 Golden Ring 3:32
10 Tulsa Time 3:30

Eric Clapton, guitars, vocals
Dick Sims, keyboards
Marcy Levy, vocals
George Terry, guitar
Carl Radle, bass guitar, vocals
Jamie Oldaker, drums, percussion, vocals
Benny Gallagher and Graham Lyle, backing vocals on “Golden Ring”


%d bloggers like this: