Skip to content

Eric Clapton – August (1986/2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Eric Clapton – August (1986/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 49:37 minutes | 619 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | © Reprise Records

Chart History/Awards
– “It’s In The Way That You Use It” reached #1 on the Mainstream Rock charts.

Eric Clapton’s 1986 classic August represents a pivotal outing by the legendary guitarist. The evocative album features his trademark sounds with glimpses of R&B influences. Joining Clapton are greats Phil Collins (producer/drummer), Greg Phillinganes (keyboardist), Nathan East (bassist) and guest vocalist Tina Turner. The album includes his iconic track “It’s In The Way That You Use It,” which peaked at #1 on the Mainstream Rock charts and is featured in the motion picture film, The Color of Money. August is one of Clapton’s biggest-selling solo albums.

Eric Clapton adopted a new, tougher, hard R&B approach on August, employing a stripped-down band featuring keyboard player Greg Phillinganes, bassist Nathan East, and drummer/producer Phil Collins, plus, on several tracks, a horn section and, on a couple of tracks, backup vocals by Tina Turner, and performing songs written by old Motown hand Lamont Dozier, among others. The excellent, but incongruous, leadoff track, however, was “It’s in the Way That You Use It,” which Clapton and Robbie Robertson had written for Robertson’s score to the film The Color of Money. Elsewhere, Clapton sang and played fiercely on songs like “Tearing Us Apart,” “Run,” and “Miss You,” all of which earned AOR radio play. That radio support may have helped the album to achieve gold status in less than six months, Clapton’s best commercial showing since 1981’s Another Ticket, despite the album’s failure to generate a hit single. The title commemorates the birth in August 1986 of Clapton’s son Conor.

01 – It’s In The Way That You Use It
02 – Run
03 – Tearing Us Apart
04 – Bad Influence
05 – Walk Away
06 – Hung Up On Your Love
07 – Take A Chance
08 – Hold On
09 – Miss You
10 – Holy Mother
11 – Behind The Mask


%d bloggers like this: