Skip to content

Emily Barker – A Dark Murmuration of Words (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Emily Barker – A Dark Murmuration of Words (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 37:05 minutes | 787 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Everyone Sang

Following the release of the blissful and poignant single ‘Return Me’, acclaimed UK based singer-songwriter Emily Barker has announced that her forthcoming album, ‘A Dark Murmuration of Words’, will be released on 4th September on Thirty Tigers. Emily has also released a lyric video for her beautiful new single, ‘The Woman Who Planted Trees’.

‘The Woman Who Planted Trees’ was inspired by Kenyan activist Wangari Maathai, who founded The Green Belt Movement in order to reforest degraded land to provide food and empower women in her community. Emily’s commanding vocals keep the listener grounded on ‘The Woman Who Planted Trees’, just like the trees and nature that she sings about. Of the single Emily said, “I grew up planting trees with my family along the Blackwood River to help prevent erosion, and in barren paddocks that had been cleared for livestock during colonisation,” she added, “Those lessons stuck with me and I’ve continued to support tree-planting schemes, especially in Australia where there are huge problems with salinity due to swathes of land being cleared by the early settlers.”


1. Emily Barker – Return Me
2. Emily Barker – Geography
3. Emily Barker – The Woman Who Planted Trees
4. Emily Barker – Where Have the Sparrows Gone?
5. Emily Barker – Strange Weather
6. Emily Barker – Machine
7. Emily Barker – When Stars Cannot Be Found
8. Emily Barker – Ordinary
9. Emily Barker – Any More Goodbyes
10. Emily Barker – Sonogram


%d bloggers like this: