Skip to content

Ella Fitzgerald – Sings Sweet Songs For Swingers (1959/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Ella Fitzgerald – Sings Sweet Songs For Swingers (1959/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 00:40:18 minutes | 1,47 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Verve Records

Ella Fitzgerald Sings Sweet Songs for Swingers is a 1959 album by the American jazz singer Ella Fitzgerald, recorded with a studio Orchestra arranged and conducted by Frank DeVol.

Ella focuses on well known jazz standards by lesser known songwriters, a useful counterbalance to her continuing songbooks project, which at this time found her in the midst of recording the epic George and Ira Gershwin Songbook.

Recorded just before and after the period that she made the George and Ira Gershwin Songbook, Ella Fitzgerald is in fine form on this obscure LP, performing a dozen standards. Although two songs are by Harold Arlen, the composers were in most cases less prolific than the ones she saluted in her songbook series. Ella is backed by a large unidentified orchestra conducted and arranged by Frank DeVol. Swingers alternate with ballads, and as usual, Ella uplifts everything, including “Let’s Fall In Love,” “Moonlight Serenade,” “Gone With the Wind” and “East of the Sun.” An enjoyable if not classic release. ~~ AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow


01. Sweet And Lovely (3:16)
02. Let’s Fall In Love (3:08)
03. Makin Whoopee (3:47)
04. That Old Feeling (4:20)
05. I Remember You (2:26)
06. Moonlight Serenade (3:04)
07. Gone With The Wind (3:04)
08. Can’t We Be Friends? (3:26)
09. Out Of This World (4:38)
10. My Old Flame (3:07)
11. East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon) (3:49)
12. Lullaby Of Broadway (2:27)


%d bloggers like this: