Skip to content

Elbow – The Take Off And Landing Of Everything (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Elbow – The Take Off And Landing Of Everything (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:14 minutes | 1,26 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Concord Records

The making of The Take Off and Landing of Everything saw the band take a new approach to writing and recording. Previously songs were mostly developed by the band as a whole, but this new album sees individual members and sub-groups take the lead on several tracks.

“Honey Sun” was written and recorded at home by guitarist Mark Potter, his brother Craig wrote the music for “Real Life (Angel)” and bassist Pete Turner built “Colour Fields” using apps on his iPad. The first track to be heard from the album, “Fly Boy Blue / Lunette” was developed by drummer Richard Jupp alongside Pete and Mark whilst both Guy and Craig were away from the studio.

The album features several guests including the Hallé Orchestra (“Manchester’s oldest band” as Guy affectionately calls them) with Pete McPhail, Tim Barber, Bob Marsh and Kat Curlett adding brass to selected tracks and tour mate and long term friend Jimi Goodwin of Doves adding backing vocals on “New York Morning.”

Familiar themes return, the welcoming of old friends, the mourning of past loves and, as Guy would say “some of the big and little, positive and negative, life experiences that any group of men approaching forty can expect.”

Recorded in Real World Studios and at Blueprint Studios in Salford, England

Guy Garvey – Vocals, Guitar
Mark Potter – Guitar, Backup Vocals
Craig Potter – Keyboards, Piano
Richard Jupp – Drums, Percussion
Pete Turner – Bass Guitar, Backup Vocals

Hallé Orchestra – Ensemble
Pete McPhail – Saxophone
Tim Barber – Trumpet
Kat Curlett – Trumpet
Bob Marsh – Flugelhorn

Track Listing:

1.This Blue World (7:12)
2.Charge (5:16)
3.Fly Boy Blue/ Lunette (6:23)
4.New York Morning (5:19)
5.Real Life (Angel) (6:47)
6.Honey Sun (4:56)
7.My Sad Captains (6:00)
8.Colour Fields (3:42)
9.The Take Off and Landing of Everything (7:10)
10.The Blanket of Night (4:22)


%d bloggers like this: