Skip to content

Elbow – Little Fictions (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Elbow – Little Fictions (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 48:29 minutes | 987 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Polydor Limited
Recorded: Blueprint Studios, Salford, Gargunnock House near Stirling and elbow rooms

Arriving three years after The Take Off and Landing of Everything — a span of time that also saw leader Guy Garvey taking a busman’s holiday with Courting the Squall — Little Fictions showcases a different but eminently recognizable Elbow. Seven albums into their career, Elbow remain a deliberate, contemplative group — that’s part of their DNA — but Little Fictions feels optimistic, particularly when it’s compared to the elegiac The Take Off and Landing of Everything. Where that album dwelled on the idea of loss, Little Fictions is its counterbalance, a record about new beginnings. This shift is evident in the music, which is lighter on its surface and complex at its foundation. Elbow emphasize electronic rhythms, sometimes even conjuring a groove, yet they still find space for chiming guitars, such as “All Disco,” which sounds like R.E.M. doing their best Velvet Underground impression. All of it adds up to an album that feels quietly hopeful, making it a tonic for troubled times.

1 Magnificent (She Says) 04:25
2 Gentle Storm 03:39
3 Trust the Sun 05:55
4 All Disco 04:28
5 Head for Supplies 03:56
6 Firebrand & Angel 05:25
7 K2 05:19
8 Montparnasse 02:41
9 Little Fictions 08:26
10 Kindling 04:15

Guy Garvey, vocals, guitar
Craig Potter, keyboard, piano, backing vocals
Mark Potter, guitar, backing vocals
Pete Turner, bass guitar, backing vocals
Alex Reeves, drums, percussion
Strings by the Hallé Orchestra
Backing vocals by The Hallé Ancoats Community Choir


%d bloggers like this: