Skip to content

Eddy Arnold – The Easy Way (1965/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Eddy Arnold – The Easy Way (1965/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 31:17 minutes | 675 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Legacy

Despite the title, which implies that this is going to be another one of Eddy Arnold’s many MOR pop albums, The Easy Way is actually one of the most invigorating and enjoyable of his mid-’60s LPs. “Bad News” is a funny, boastful tune that had been a minor hit for its writer, John D. Loudermilk. “Tell ‘Em Where You Got Your Blues” and “Baby I’ve Got It” are blues-based with some ace guitar, probably played by producer Chet Atkins. “What-Cha Gonna Do” is the kind of up-tempo country song that became a rarity on Arnold’s later albums, and the melody of “Understand Your Man” is very close to Bob Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright.” Most of the other tracks take a laid-back approach and are more in alignment with the expectations of the mainstream listeners who made giant hits out of songs like “Make the World Go Away” and “What’s He Doing in My World” around this time. Bill Walker’s arrangements seem to favor the electric guitar a little more than usual, which lends a slight edge that is often lacking on Arnold’s pop ballads.

01 – Bad News
02 – Tell ‘Em Where You Got Your Blues
03 – We’ll Sing in the Sunshine
04 – It’s My Pleasure
05 – Taking a Chance on Love
06 – Baby I’ve Got It
07 – Understand Your Man
08 – My Heart’s Not Made That Way
09 – He’ll Have to Go
10 – The Easy Way
11 – I’ve Been to Town
12 – What-Cha Gonna Do


%d bloggers like this: