Skip to content

Eddie Higgins Trio – Dear Old Stockholm (2003) [Venus Japan] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Eddie Higgins Trio – Dear Old Stockholm (2003) [Venus Japan]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 74:40 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 3,0 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 2,95 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 870 MB

By the time this, veteran pianist Eddie Higgins had become one of the most popular pianists in Japan, thanks in no small part to the independent label Venus Records. To commemorate its 10th anniversary with Venus, the label asked its fans which songs they would like to hear the Eddie Higgins Trio perform in their new album. Higgins chose 12 songs out of the top 25 and added two of his own choosing. It might be interesting for you to learn what songs are preferred by Japanese jazz fans.

With a lot of ballads, this is in most part a mellow, relaxing album. Supported by the deep, tuneful bass of Jay Leonhart and sensitive drums of Joe Ascione, Higgins plays these popular songs with elegance and restrained passion. His musical ideas are always flowing and harmonies beautiful. Highlights include “Nardis” where the trio picks up the tempo and intensity, “Dear Old Stockholm” (the No. 1 choice of fans) and “Witchcraft” (swinging Sinatra number, anyone?). Great songs, wonderfully played. And as always the case with Venus Records, great sound.


01. Moonlight Becomes You
02. More Than You Know
03. Nardis
04. Over The Rainbow
05. Dear Old Stockholm
06. I Remember Clifford
07. You And The Night And The Music
08. If You Could See Me Now
09. Again
10. We Will Be Together Again
11. Witchcraft
12. It Never Entered My Mind
13. Stella By Starlight
14. Blame It On My Youth

Eddie Higgins – piano
Jay Leonhart – bass
Joe Ascione – drums

Produced Tetsuo Hara and Todd Barkan. Engineered by Jim Anderson.
Recorded on September 24-25, 2002 at Avatar Studio in New York.
Mastered by Shuji Kitamura & Tetsuo Hara.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # TKGV-6.

Ripped direct and unretouched using Pioneer BDP-80FD, Sonore ISO2DSD, and sacd_extract.





%d bloggers like this: