Eddie Daniels & Harlem Quartet – Heart of Brazil (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Eddie Daniels & Harlem Quartet – Heart of Brazil (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:17:02 minutes | 5,03 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HighResAudio | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD

Paying tribute to the world-renowned Brazilian composer and multi-instrumentalist, Egberto Gismonti. Heart of Brazil features Daniels with the top-shelf trio of pianist Josh Nelson, bassist Kevin Axt and drummer Mauricio Zottarelli, plus the Grammy Award-winning Harlem Quartet. With new arrangements by Ted Nash, Kuno Schmid and Josh Nelson, Heart of Brazil collects songs from Gismonti’s classic early 1970s albums on Odeon/EMI Records, such as his self-titled 1973 album, Água & Vinho (1972), Corações Futuristas (1976), Carmo (1977) and others. The album was produced by Resonance president George Klabin, who has long felt Gismonti’s work has been under-appreciated and deserving of wider recognition. Gismonti says in his interview with acclaimed author James Gavin, “When I heard the record I felt immense joy…The repertoire spans a rich period of my composing. What a great present for my seventy years of life.”

1. Lôro 05:08
2. Baião Malandro 05:51
3. Água e Vinho 06:07
4. Ciranda 05:11
5. Folia 04:23
6. Maracatú 05:52
7. Adágio 05:59
8. Tango Nova 05:45
9. Chôro 06:02
10. Tango 04:40
11. Cigana 07:36
12. Trem Noturno 07:44
13. Auto-Retrato 06:44

Eddie Daniels, clarinet, tenor saxophone
Josh Nelson, piano
Kevin Axt, bass
Mauricio Zottarelli, drums
Harlem Quartet:
Ilmar Gavilán, violin
Melissa White, violin
Jamey Amador, viola
Felix Umansky, cello
Digitally remastered