Ed Ames – Time, Time (1967/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ed Ames – Time, Time (1967/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 32:10 minutes | 704 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

Big-voiced Ed Ames followed up his highly successful album My Cup Runneth Over with Time, Time, a similar set of traditional pop and show tunes beautifully arranged and impeccably performed. The title track sounds like an attempt to create another “My Cup Runneth Over” the two songs even share, briefly, a string melody and the single gave Ames another adult contemporary chart-topper. Ames capably handles dramatic Broadway tunes like “Cabaret” and “Sunrise, Sunset” as well as the Beatles’ “Michelle,” in an arrangement that makes the song sound like an old pop chestnut. In fact, Ames’ evergreen approach makes everything sound as though it hails from no particular period in time; when he’s finished with a recent hit like “What the World Needs Now Is Love” it sounds as much like a pop standard as “Pretend,” an actual oldie. A cast of well-known arrangers and conductors including Anita Kerr and Marty Gold split the orchestral chores, but the album is seamless as if the work of one mind. As exemplary as the arrangements and Ames’ performances may be, the material could be better, and Time, Time is inferior to both My Cup Runneth Over and the album Ames would make next, When the Snow Is on the Roses.

01. Time, Time (Tu As Beau Scurire)
02. Michelle
03. Pretend
04. Somethin’ Stupid
05. Here with You
06. Cabaret
07. One Little Girl at a Time
08. Wish Me a Rainbow
09. Love That Lasts Forever
10. Sunrise, Sunset
11. What the World Needs Now Is Love