Skip to content

Eagles – Hotel California (1976) {40th Anniversary Expanded Edition 2017} [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Eagles – Hotel California (1976) {40th Anniversary Expanded Edition 2017}
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:31:54 minutes | 1,88 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Rhino – Elektra

The Eagles’ Hotel California was a critical and commercial phenomenon when it was released in December 1976. The album topped the Billboard charts for eight weeks in the US, won two Grammy Awards, sold more than 32 million copies around the world, and featured two Billboard #1 hit singles. The album was nominated for five Grammy Awards, and won for “Record Of The Year” and “Best Arrangement For Voices”. “Hotel California: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” opens with a remastered version of the original album, featuring two Billboard #1 singles – “New Kid In Town” and the title track – plus the smash hit “Life In The Fast Lane”. 40 years later, it still ranks as one of the best-selling albums of all time.

The set also marks the debut of ten live tracks that were recorded during the band’s three-night stand at the Los Angeles Forum in October 1976. The concert recordings – which were recorded about a month before the album came out – feature one of the first ever live performances of “Hotel California” and “New Kid In Town” along with other Eagles classics including “Already Gone”, “Take It To The Limit”, and “Witchy Woman”.

The Eagles took 18 months between their fourth and fifth albums, reportedly spending eight months in the studio recording Hotel California. The album was also their first to be made without Bernie Leadon, who had given the band much of its country flavor, and with rock guitarist Joe Walsh. As a result, the album marks a major leap for The Eagles from their earlier work, as well as a stylistic shift toward mainstream rock. An even more important aspect, however, is the emergence of Don Henley as the band’s dominant voice, both as a singer and a lyricist. On the six songs to which he contributes, Henley sketches a thematic statement that begins by using California as a metaphor for a dark, surreal world of dissipation; comments on the ephemeral nature of success and the attraction of excess; branches out into romantic disappointment; and finally sketches a broad, pessimistic history of America that borders on nihilism. Of course, the lyrics kick in some time after one has appreciated the album’s music, which marks a peak in The Eagles’ playing. Early on, the group couldn’t rock convincingly, but the rhythm section of Henley and Meisner has finally solidified, and the electric guitar work of Don Felder and Joe Walsh has arena-rock heft. In the early part of their career, The Eagles never seemed to get a sound big enough for their ambitions; after changes in producer and personnel, as well as a noticeable growth in creativity, Hotel California unveiled what seemed almost like a whole new band. It was a band that could be bombastic, but also one that made music worthy of the later tag of “classic rock,” music appropriate for the arenas and stadiums the band was playing. The result was The Eagles’ biggest-selling regular album release, and one of the most successful rock albums ever.


DISC 1 – Stereo Album Remastered:
01 – Hotel California (Remastered)
02 – New Kid In Town (Remastered)
03 – Life In The Fast Lane (Remastered)
04 – Wasted Time (Remastered)
05 – Wasted Time (Reprise) [Remastered]06 – Victim Of Love (Remastered)
07 – Pretty Maids All In A Row (Remastered)
08 – Try And Love Again (Remastered)
09 – The Last Resort (Remastered)

DISC 2: Live at The Los Angeles Forum, 10/20-22/76:
01 – Take It Easy
02 – Take It To The Limit
03 – New Kid In Town
04 – James Dean
05 – Good Day In Hell
06 – Witchy Woman
07 – Funk #49
08 – One of These Nights
09 – Hotel California
10 – Already Gone


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: