Skip to content

Dunedin Consort, John Butt – George Frideric Handel: Acis & Galatea (Original Cannons Performing Version 1718) (2008) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Dunedin Consort – Handel: Acis & Galatea
(Original Cannons Performing Version 1718) [2008]

FLAC (tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 95:14 minutes | 1,8 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: | Covers & Digital Booklet

The second Handel recording from the award-winning Dunedin Consort is a revelation. The album was a Finalist in the Baroque Vocal category in the 2009 Gramophone Awards.

From former Bay Area early music specialist John Butt and the authentic instrument Dunedin Consort & Players of England comes Handel’s Original Cannons Performing Version of 1718 (Linn Records). Physically available as a high-resolution SACD (super a compact disc) that will yield multichannel sound on systems so equipped, and state-of-the-art stereo on the rest, this absolutely delicious, irresistible performance also exists as a high-resolution music file downloadable from the label’s Web site. Sung in English, with a one-person-to-a-line chorus composed of Handel’s five soloists, it purports to reflect the latest research into the scoring that the composer used at the premiere at the palace of Cannons in Middlesex, the country estate of the Duke of Chandos, near London. By referencing a surviving manuscript from a copyist who helped prepare many of Handel’s performing scores, Butt deviates from the supposedly latest authoritative edition to change orchestration and instrumentation when he believes that Handel did the same.

01 – Sinfonia
02 – Chorus Oh the pleasure of the plains
03 – Accompagnato Ye verdant plains and woody mountains
04 – Air Hush ye pretty warbling quire
05 – Air Where shall I seek the charming fair
06 – Recitative Stay shepherd stay
07 – Air Shepherd what art thou pursuing
08 – Recitative Lo here my love
09 – Air Love in her eyes sits playing
10 – Recitative Oh didst thou know the pains of absent love
11 – Air As when the dove laments her love
12 – Duet Happy we
13 – Chorus Wretched lovers
14 – Accompagnato I rage I melt I burn
15 – Air O ruddier than the cherry
16 – Recitative Whither fairest art thou running
17 – Air Cease to beauty to be suing
18 – Air Would you gain the tender creature
19 – Recitative His hideous love provokes my rage
20 – Air Love sounds th alarm
21 – Air Consider fond shepherd
22 – Recitative Cease oh cease thou gentle youth
23 – Trio The flocks shall leave the mountains
24 – Accompagnato Help Galatea Help ye parent gods
25 – Chorus Mourn all ye muses
26 – Solo Chorus Must I my Acis still bemoan
27 – Recitative Tis done Thus I exert my pow r divine
28 – Air Heart the seat of soft delight
29 – Chorus Galatea dry thy tears

Produced by Philip Hobbs.

Dunedin Consort & Players:
Susan Hamilton – Galatea
Nicholas Mulroy – Acis
Thomas Hobbs – Damon
Nicholas Hurndall Smith – Coridon
Matthew Brook – Polyphemus
John Butt – Director


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: