Skip to content

Dunedin Consort, John Butt – Georg Friedrich Handel: Messiah – Dublin Version, 1742 (2006) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Dunedin Consort – Händel: Messiah – Dublin Version, 1742 (2006)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 139:58 minutes | 2,57 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: | Covers & Digital Booklet

This superb 2-disc set, which features the Messiah as premiered by Handel in Dublin in 1742, was named the winner of Baroque Vocal Album of the Year in the 2007 Gramophone Awards.

Choosing to perform Handel’s Messiah in the version presented at its very first performances, in Dublin (13 April and 3 June, 1742), does not mean that we are presenting the work in its ‘best’ or indeed in its entirely ‘original’ form. Handel seems to have composed the oratorio with no specific performers in mind, so he was prepared to adapt it for each production in turn; indeed, around ten versions are discernible in all. He certainly made some revisions in Dublin for those singers who were not of the same calibre as he enjoyed in London, so there has sometimes been a tendency to view this first performing version as critically compromised by supposedly inadequate forces. Nevertheless, there is much to be gained from reconstructing the Dublin version (albeit something which cannot be done with total certainty) and, particularly, attempting to use roughly the same size of vocal forces and a similar apportionment of soloists. Some of Handel’s cuts made during the preparations for the Dublin performances were clearly designed to enhance the flow of the piece; these were retained in subsequent performances and thus do not reflect the inadequacy of the first performers.

01 – Sinfonia
02 – Recit: Comfort ye
03 – Air: Every valley shall be exalted
04 – Chorus: And the Glory of the Lord
05 – Recit: Thus saith the Lord
06 – Air: But who may abide
07 – Chorus: And he shall purify
08 – Recit: Behold a virgin shall conceive
09 – Air: O thou that tellest good tidings
10 – Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings
11 – Recit: For behold!
12 – Air: The people that walked in darkness
13 – Chorus: For unto us a child is born
14 – Pifa (Pastoral Symphony)
15 – Recit: There were shepherds
16 – Recit: And lo!
17 – Recit: And the angel said unto them
18 – Recit: And suddenly
19 – Chorus: Glory to God
20 – Air: Rejoice greatly
21 – Recit: Then shall the eyes of the blind
22 – Air: He shall feed his flock
23 – Chorus: His yoke is easy
24 – Chorus: Behold the lamb of God
25 – Air: He was despised
26 – Chorus: Surely
27 – (and with his stripes)
28 – Chorus: All we like sheep
29 – Recit: But Who may abide
30 – Recit accomp: All they that see him
31 – Chorus: He trusted in God
32 – Recit accomp: Thy rebuke
33 – Air: Behold and see
34 – Recit accomp: He was cut off
35 – Air: But thou didst not leave
36 – Chorus: Lift up your heads
37 – Recit: Unto which of the angels
38 – Chorus: Let all the angels
39 – Air: Thou art gone up
40 – Chorus: The Lord gave the word
41 – Soli & Chorus: How beautiful are the feet
42 – Air: Why do the nations
43 – Chorus: Let us break
44 – Recit: He that dwelleth
45 – Chorus: Hallelujah
46 – Air: I know that my redeemer liveth
47 – Soli & Chorus: Since by man
48 – Recit. Accomp: Behold I tell you a mystery
49 – Air: The trumpet shall sound
50 – Recit: Then shall be brought
51 – Duet: O death where is thy sting
52 – Chorus: But thanks
53 – Air: If God be for us
54 – Chorus: Worthy is the lamb
55 – Chorus: Amen
56 – Recit: He that dwelleth in Heaven shall laugh them to scorn
57 – Air: Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron

Recorded at Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh, UK: 1-4 May 2006.
Engineered by Philip Hobbs.

Dunedin Consort & Players:
John Butt (conductor), Co-artistic Director
Susan Hamilton (soprano), Co-artistic Director
Nicholas Mulroy (tenor)
Matthew Brook (bass)
Annie Gill (mezzo soprano)
Clare Wilkinson (alto)
Heather Cairncross (alto)
Edward Caswell (bass)


%d bloggers like this: