Skip to content

Duncan Honeybourne – De Profundis Clamavi (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Duncan Honeybourne – De Profundis Clamavi (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 02:36:30 minutes | 2,41 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © EM Records

De Profundis Clamavi is a double CD with recordings of English piano music that contrasts three dramatic sonatas with a lively selection of shorter pieces ranging from sublime poetry to dark rhapsody.

Frank Bridge began writing his grandiose piano sonata exactly a century ago, in the wake of the First World War, and she is imbued with a mood of devastation and torment. The sonata by contemporary composer Richard Pantcheff was completed in 2017 and evokes a similarly intense emotional landscape; hence the quote from Psalm 130, which gives the album its name (“From the depths I called to You, Oh Lord”). The sonata by Christopher Edmunds from 1938, which was recorded here for the first time, also oozes with lively pianistic colours, melting tenderness and an irresistible romantic warmth.

The three sonatas are complemented and contextualized by Parry’s delicious Shulbrede Tunes – loving portraits of the composer’s family and their home in Sussex – as well as by the first recording of two breathtaking romantic showpieces by a composer better known for his vocal works, Cecil Armstrong Gibbs. Three unreleased – and not yet recorded – pearls by Edgar Bainton give the CD another special feature.

The selection of composers represented on the CDs is characterized by many friendships and connections, and the sonatas of Bridge and Pantcheff are connected with each other by a special pedagogical aspect. The young Richard Pantcheff was a mentor to Benjamin Britten, Bridge’s most famous pupil, and Britten is represented with his captivating Night Piece, composed for the first Leeds International Piano Competition. Duncan Honeybourne studied the work with the founder of the competition, Dame Fanny Waterman, who commissioned it in 1963 and recently died at the age of one hundred.

CD 01

1. Duncan Honeybourne – I. Allegro, fieramente e rubato
2. Duncan Honeybourne – II. Lento e mesto
3. Duncan Honeybourne – III. Allegro scherzoso (Poco rubato)
4. Duncan Honeybourne – Variations & Fugue in B Minor, Op. 1
5. Duncan Honeybourne – An Essex Rhapsody, Op. 36
6. Duncan Honeybourne – Ballade for Piano in D-Flat Major
7. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 5, Wind oor die Branders
8. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 1, Shulbrede
9. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 2, Elizabeth
10. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 3, Dolly No. 1
11. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 4, Bogies and Sprites That Gambol by Nights
12. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 5, Matthew
13. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 6, Prior’s Chamber by Firelight
14. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 7, Children’s Pranks
15. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 8, Dolly No. 2
16. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 9, In the Garden with the Dew on the Grass
17. Duncan Honeybourne – No. 10, Father Playmate

CD 02

1. Duncan Honeybourne – Willows
2. Duncan Honeybourne – The Making of the Nightingale
3. Duncan Honeybourne – I. Lento ma non troppo – Andante ben moderato – Allegro energico
4. Duncan Honeybourne – II. Andante ben moderato
5. Duncan Honeybourne – III. Lento – Allegro non troppo
6. Duncan Honeybourne – Night-Piece for Piano
7. Duncan Honeybourne – I. Inquieto
8. Duncan Honeybourne – II. Elegia. Lento e tenebroso
9. Duncan Honeybourne – III. Alla vortice


%d bloggers like this: