Skip to content

Donna Summer – She Works Hard For The Money (1983/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Donna Summer – She Works Hard For The Money (1983/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 42:11 minutes | 1,7 GB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Island Mercury

She Works Hard For The Money is the eleventh studio classic by the disco legend. It includes the title track, one of Summer’s biggest hits, which reached #3 on the Billboard Hot 100. The album charted in the Top Ten on the Billboard 200 and Billboard’s Top R&B Albums. Also included are the gems “Love Has A Mind Of Its Own,” “Unconditional Love” and “He’s A Rebel.” “He’s A Rebel” won Summer a GRAMMY for Inspirational Recording.

Donna Summer’s brassy, matter-of-fact mezzo does not play the sexy sanctified diva, and her musicians’ crisp, loud beats don’t evoke rapture or delirium. Instead, she and her rhythm men live up to the title of “She Works Hard for the Money.” Here’s praise for a waitress’ 12-hour workday that sums up Summer’s own post-dance queen job status, as well as disco fans’ own spotlighted lives and maintains the pressure, from the steel-and-synth riffs of “Stop, Look & Listen” to the impatient tenderness of “People, People.” No one writes about love with as mesmeric a sense of wonder as Summer confesses in “Love Has a Mind of Its Own,” “Unconditional Love,” and “I Do Believe (I Fell in Love)”.

01 – She Works Hard For The Money
02 – Stop Look And Listen
03 – He’s A Rebel
04 – Woman
05 – Unconditional Love (feat. Musical Youth)
06 – Love Has A Mind Of Its Own
07 – Tokyo
08 – People People
09 – I Do Believe (I Fell In Love)


%d bloggers like this: