Skip to content

Don Patterson – Holiday Soul (1964/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Don Patterson – Holiday Soul (1964/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:29 minutes | 848 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Original Jazz Classics

Holiday Soul is an album of Christmas music by organist Don Patterson recorded in 1964 and released on the Prestige label.

This hard to find swingin’ holiday collection from organist Don Patterson and his trio can be seen as a companion to an album bearing the same title from fellow Prestige artist, pianist Bobby Timmons, both recorded back-to-back at Van Gelder Studio in November 1964 and released that same Christmas season. The two albums even overlap on two songs, You’re All I Want For Christmas and Santa Claus Is Coming To Town.

“… among his rarest and hardest to find … the threesome generates the kind of energy that belies the group’s modest size … even Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer swings like crazy … a welcomed gift to jazz fans of the hard bop persuasion.” –All About Jazz

Basic production issues mandate that seasonal records be finished long before anyone in their right mind might think about Santa Claus, but some, like Holiday Soul, manage to capture the best of the season’s feeling. Don Patterson, working here in the standard organ trio format with a young Pat Martino on guitar and drummer Billy James, has the holiday season down, uh, cold. The group put their own warm spin on winter classics, staying true to the melodies while giving themselves room to stretch out a bit. It adds up to a hopeful, fun record, perfect for any holiday party, no matter your affiliation. ~~llMusic Review by Kurt Edwards

1. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer 03:15
2. What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve? 05:38
3. You’re All I Want For Christmas 03:02
4. Silent Night 02:57
5. O Holy Night 03:14
6. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town 05:35
7. Merry Christmas Baby 06:06
8. Jingle Bells 08:42

Don Patterson – organ
Pat Martino – guitar
Billy James – drums


%d bloggers like this: