Skip to content

Dmitri Shostakovich – Symphonies Nos. 2 & 11 – Mariinsky Orchestra and Chorus, Valery Gergiev (2010) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Dmitri Shostakovich – Symphonies Nos. 2 & 11 – Mariinsky Orchestra and Chorus, Valery Gergiev (2010)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:16:01 minutes | 1,42 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: |  @ Mariinsky
Recorded: February 2009 and February 2010 at the Mariinsky Concert Hall, St Petersburg

Shostakovich’s Second and Eleventh Symphonies are both inspired by Russian revolutions. The Eleventh Symphony, “The Year 1905”, marks the bloody revolution of its namesake year. It is an astonishingly atmospheric symphony, of cinematic breadth, especially the second movement which depicts the Bloody Sunday massacre in St Petersburg.

Symphony No 2 was written to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the October Revolution. Though it is a much shorter work than the Eleventh, clocking in at less than 20 minutes, it is by no means any less dramatic. Although dismissed as an experiment by the composer later in his career, it remains an important step in the development of one of history’s greatest symphonists. Here Valery Gergiev, along with the Mariinsky Orchestra and Chorus, delivers definitive performances of both works.

‘Gergiev’s account is simply hair-raising [Symphony No 11]. Even by today’s high standard of orchestral playing, I suspect some orchestras would have trouble keeping up with Gergiev’s driving, intense approach: the Mariinsky players stick to him like glue. This is the best-recorded traversal of Symphony No 2’ –American Record Guide

‘Performed here with total conviction … Gergiev captures its brooding majesty in a tense and involving performance, distinguished by the terrifying sound of the St Petersburg winds’ –Financial Times

Dmitri Dmitrievich Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphony No 2 in B major ‘To October’ Op 14
1 Largo – Crotchet = 152 – Poco meno mosso – Allegro molto[7’18]
2 Crotchet = 152 – Meno mosso – Moderato[5’26]
3 To October[6’40]
Symphony No 11 in G minor ‘The year 1905’ Op 103
4 The Palace Square: Adagio[15’10]
5 The 9th of January: Allegro[17’17]
6 In memoriam: Adagio[10’28]
7 Tocsin: Allegro non troppo[13’42]

Mariinsky Orchestra and Chorus
Valery Gergiev conductor


%d bloggers like this: