Skip to content

Dizzy Gillespie Quartet – At Onkel Po’s Carnegie Hall 1978 (Remastered) (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Dizzy Gillespie Quartet – At Onkel Pö’s Carnegie Hall 1978 (Remastered) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:53:53 minutes | 1,29 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Jazzline

“Considering the current developments on the market for Presidents of the United States one should probably remind the public, that even this strange bird – John Birks Gillespie from Cheraw, South Carolina, born in October 1917, nicknamed ‘Dizzy’ since the start of his professional career and thus declared a bit crazy – once wanted to become President of the United States. Seriously? Most probably not. But back in 1964, the year after the assassination of John F. Kennedy in a country marked by traumatised resignation also in view of Lyndon B. Johnson, Kennedy’s deputy who had taken over the top job, there was a small-scale but inventive campaign: ‘Vote Dizzy!’ . . . In March 1978, fourteen years on from this political super-joke, Dizzy’s quartet was back in Hamburg. Of course they also stopped by at Onkel Pö. By then the musician was 60 years old and had reached cult-status long before. The previous years he had toured from festival to festival together with the squad of impresario Norman Granz. On one of the recordings made at Montreux on the shore of Lake Geneva, the star trumpeter fought a ‘battle’ with the upcoming star Jon Faddis, who was at least technically already his equal. Those were years in which the quirky master, who had initiated a be-bop-fashion trend with his small beard and beret in his early years, aimed at new goals and strategies. The quartet performing at Onkel Pö was exemplary for this new orientation. Dizzy was on tour with a rather small team: the solos were divided between him and the only 22-year-old guitarist Rodney Jones; the equally youthful Ben Brown was the man on the electric bass. However, when it came to drummer Mickey Roker, Dizzy relied on his own, the bebop-tradition. In the second part of the Pö-concert Dizzy invited the saxophonist Leo Wright onto the stage. . . . [Wright] was – together with Phil Woods – one of Charlie Parker’s legitimate heirs and since 1959 Dizzy’s permanent quintet-partner for two years…” (Michael Laages)

1. Sunshine (9:04)
2. The Land of Milk and Honey (10:21)
3. Brother K. (10:01)
4. Unicorn (6:16)
5. Oop-Pop-a-Da (5:37)
6. Diddy Wa Diddy (19:22)
7. Olinga (14:43)
8. Blues (9:54)
9. A Night in Tunisia (14:58)
10. Dizzy’s Party (10:05)

Dizzy Gillespie, trumpet, vocals
Rodney Jones, guitar
Leo Wright, alto saxophone
Benjamin Brown, bass
Mickey Roker, drums

Recorded March 23rd, 1978 at Onkel Pö’s Carnegie Hall, Hamburg, Germany

Digitally remastered


%d bloggers like this: