Skip to content

Disturbed – Immortalized (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Disturbed – Immortalized (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:06:14 minutes | 871 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Reprise Records
Recorded: January–May 2015 at The Hideout Recording Studio, Las Vegas

That album, Immortalized [Reprise], initially became the best-kept secret of the group’s career. In 2013, Draiman released a top 15 record with Device’s self-titled debut, while Donegan and Wengren launched Fight or Flight with A Life By Design. Following the success of both, Draiman and Donegan decided to have dinner back in their hometown of Chicago during January 2014. Without notifying their families, friends, or label, that’s the moment they stirred the sleeping beast. However, instead of simply emailing ideas, they actually flew back and forth to each other’s respective home studios for every writing session. This is the first time they collectively wrote together since 2001.

Immortalized will live up to its title and fortify their legacy further. “I think the fans will feel like it was worth the wait,” concludes Donegan. “We’ve been planning this for the past year and keeping it a secret so we can’t wait to hear the response. I hope fans realize we have a lot more left in us. This album reassured me of that. To be away from it for almost 5 years, get back in a room, write together, and tap into that fire is awesome. Part of me didn’t want to leave the studio! We still have a lot more to say. We still have a lot more to do. We’re returning stronger than ever. I thinkImmortalized shows that.”

The sixth studio long player from the Windy City-based outfit, Immortalized finds Disturbed bolting down the house they finished building on 2010’s Asylum, offering up a 13-track slab of vintage mid- to late-2000s heavy rock piled high with bottom-heavy riffs, piston-like percussion, and big modern rock radio-ready choruses filled with randomly generated declarations of defiance. To say that the old “if it’s broke don’t fix it” idiom looms large over the proceedings is a bit of an understatement, but Disturbed’s particular brand of 21st century hard rock has brought in enough platinum over the years to warrant a bit of metathesiophobia, and their myriad post-hiatus projects ultimately failed to yield the same dividends. With that noted, the listener’s likelihood of deriving any kind of enjoyment from the album is directly related to their amore for previous outings, and Immortalized has more than its share of vintage Disturbed goodies, like the soaring first single “The Vengeful One,” the stadium-ready “Who Taught You How to Hate,” and the nervy Muse-lite title track. The band’s shamelessly melodramatic reading of Simon & Garfunkel’s “Sound of Silence,” which effectively utilizes the pared-down piano and vocal treatment that helped Gary Jules resurrect Tears For Fears’ “Mad World,” and the anthemic and refreshingly upbeat mid-album gem “The Light,” impress with their unabashed theatricality and strong vocal turns from David Draiman. And as per usual, Don Donegan’s stellar guitar work is the glue that keeps the whole affair from disappearing into the populist ether. However, a five-year break between albums should lend itself to a bit of growth, even for a band as everyman as Disturbed, but there’s just not much here to keep the group’s detractors from bringing out their pitchforks, and over time, staying the course may leave fewer and fewer townsfolk to protect them. –AllMusic Review by James Christopher Monger

1 The Eye Of The Storm 1:21
2 Immortalized 4:18
3 The Vengeful One 4:12
4 Open Your Eyes 3:57
5 The Light 4:17
6 What Are You Waiting For 4:04
7 You’re Mine 4:56
8 Who 4:47
9 Save Our Last Goodbye 5:00
10 Fire It Up 4:06
11 The Sound Of Silence 4:09
12 Never Wrong 3:33
13 Who Taught You How To Hate 4:48
Bonus Tracks
14 Tyrant 3:49
15 Legion Of Monsters 4:24
16 The Brave And The Bold 4:34

David Draiman – vocals
Dan Donegan – guitars, electronics
Mike Wengren – drums
John Moyer – bass


%d bloggers like this: