Dirk Darmstaedter – Strange Companions (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Dirk Darmstaedter – Strange Companions (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 41:40 minutes | 472 MB | Genre: Pop, Pop Rock, Singer-Songwriter
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Beg Steal & Borrow

Dirk Darmstaedter opens with “Strange Companions”, the first solo album after his 20th anniversary two years ago, the second section of his solo career. At the same time he celebrates a second anniversary, because it is his tenth solo album. In spring 2020 he will present the work live.

After Dirk Darmstaedter had set his solo career with a jubilee album in 2017 a taste-sure icing on the cake, the Hamburg singer / songwriter felt “completely free in a pleasant way,” as he says today. After a thrilling ten years with his successful band The Jeremy Days, a second section of his musical life came to a close, including the founding and years-long leadership of tapete records, one of Germany’s most successful independent record labels. The world opened the doors wide and offered him new opportunities in the form of a radio show at Bremen Zwei or even a pop lecturer. Nothing needed, everything was allowed.

Completely liberated, he also tackled his new songs, started experimenting, just trying to have fun with them: “It was not about creating a fund for an album, but just about this one song that I’m currently working on Wickel had. “He released each song as freshly as possible digitally. His fans could virtually accompany him on his short expedition to the composition. And look forward to the fact that in the end it has become an album again. For Darmstaedter the adequate form: “I’m a big fan of shuffle-play and mixtapes, but they stand for a different kind of fun listening to music. They can not replace an album. “

Interestingly, Kai Blankenberg, who again took care of the mastering praised at the end of production a real Dirk album from a piece. Darmstaedter smiles: »I really approached the songs from all directions, tried styles and instruments and did not care about the larger context. And then, in a reassuring way, you realize that all those micro-decisions you made on a daily basis are not random – in their totality they make you an artist. “

01. Wilhelmsburg
02. The Sea Before Us
03. Strange Companions
04. Don’t Want to Feel Like Myself Tonite
05. Thirty Seconds
06. Deborah
07. Love Will Find Me a Wheel
08. Second Chance
09. Family Ties
10. You Can Do Anything

Dirk Darmstaedter, vocals, all instruments
Lars Plogschties, drums (on all tracks except 1,2 and 4)
Ben Schadow, Bass (on all tracks except 1.4 and 8)
David Rieken, guitar (on tracks 3, 6 and 10)