Skip to content

Dire Straits – Communiqué (1979) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012 # UIGY-9519] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}

Dire Straits – Communiqué (1979) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012 # UIGY-9519]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 42:35 minutes | Scans included | 1,71 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 840 MB

Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). DSD Transferred by Manabu Matsumura.

Rushed out less than nine months after the surprise success of Dire Straits’ self-titled debut album, the group’s sophomore effort, Communiqué, seemed little more than a carbon copy of its predecessor with less compelling material. Mark Knopfler and co. had established a sound (derived largely from J.J. Cale) of laid-back shuffles and intricate, bluesy guitar playing, and Communiqué provided more examples of it. But there was no track as focused as “Sultans of Swing,” even if “Lady Writer” (a lesser singles chart entry on both sides of the Atlantic) nearly duplicated its sound. As a result, Communiqué sold immediately to Dire Straits’ established audience, but no more, and it did not fare as well critically as its predecessor or its follow-up.

01 – Once Upon A Time In The West
02 – News
03 – Where Do You Think You’re Going?
04 – Communique
05 – Lady Writer
06 – Angel Of Mercy
07 – Portobello Belle
08 – Single-Handed Sailor
09 – Follow Me Home

DSD Transferred from analogue master tapes by Manabu Matsumura (Universal Mastering Studios, Tokyo).



%d bloggers like this: