Skip to content

Diana Krall – When I Look In Your Eyes (1999) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Diana Krall – When I Look In Your Eyes (1999)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:32 minutes | 0.98 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet

Krall’s fifth album won Grammys for Best Jazz Vocal and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical (and was nominated for Album of the Year). The album colors Krall’s classic jazz stylings with gorgeous orchestral arrangements on numbers by Porter, Berlin, Gershwin and others. The record features the talents of A-list jazzers like Russell Malone and Alan Broadbent and was ranked by Billboard as the 9th best jazz album of the 1990s.

With this album, the young Canadian singer/pianist/arranger joins forces with producer Tommy LiPuma, who places his orchestral stamp on eight of the 13 tracks. It is the latest attempt to push Krall to an even wider pop/smooth jazz audience than she already enjoys. After all, Nat Cole, Wes Montgomery, and George Benson, among others, went this route. Wonder if she’d agree the cuts sans strings were more fun and challenging? Krall does get to it with central help from bassists John Clayton and Ben Wolfe, drummers Jeff Hamilton and Lewis Nash, and guitarist Russell Malone, all stellar players. Krall’s voice is sweet and sexy. She’s also flexible within her range and at times a bit kitschy, mostly the hopeless romantic. On this disc of love songs, it’s clear she’s cool but very much in love with this music. Bob Dorough’s “Devil May Care” and the insistent “Best Thing for You” really click. Favorites are a decent Shearing-esque “Let’s Fall in Love” with vibist Larry Bunker; a suave slow bossa on the opening number, “Let’s Face the Music”; the lusher-than-lush title track; and especially an incredible horn-fired fanfare intro/outro on the hip “Pick Yourself Up.” Some might call this fluff or mush, but it depends solely on your personal taste. This will certainly appeal to Krall’s fans, lovers, and lovers at heart.

01 – Let’s Face The Music And Dance
02 – Devil May Care
03 – Let’s Fall In Love
04 – When I Look In Your Eyes
05 – Popsicle Toes
06 – I’ve Got You Under My Skin
07 – I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
08 – I’ll String Along With You
09 – East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon)
10 – Pick Yourself Up
11 – The Best Thing For You
12 – Do It Again
13 – Why Should I Care


%d bloggers like this: