Skip to content

Diana Krall – Quiet Nights (2009) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Diana Krall – Quiet Nights (2009)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:37 minutes | 1,08 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet

Diana Krall’s 12th album Quiet Nights is an intimate recording of ballads and bossa novas from the team that brought you her best-selling GRAMMY Award-winning CD The Look of Love. Accompanied by her quartet and orchestra, Diana turns her sensual vocals and consummate piano skills to “The Boy from Ipanema”, “Walk on By”and other classic tunes.

Bossa nova is not unfamiliar to Diana Krall, but 2009’s Quiet Nights is her first record devoted to the gently swaying rhythm. Teaming up again with arranger Claus Ogerman, who last worked with Krall on 2001’s The Look of Love and who also frequently collaborated with bossa nova godfather Antonio Carlos Jobim, Krall winds up with a mellow, lazy album that recalls the relaxed late-night sophistication of Jobim’s duet album with Frank Sinatra, which Ogerman also happened to arrange and conduct. It’s not just the sound, it’s the songs: how ’60s standards like Bacharach/David’s “Walk on By” sit next to three Jobim tunes, a song by Marcos Valle (“So Nice”), and a few American Songbook standards placed at the beginning, the better to ease listeners into purer bossa nova at the end. Then again, they don’t need much persuasion — if any music could be called accessible it’s this, with its warm intimacy and classic good taste. If anything, there may be a bit too much classic good taste on Quiet Nights — there is no reinterpretation, only homage — but that’s not quite a problem because Krall knows enough to lay back, to never push, only to glide upon the gossamer surface. After all, some things are timeless for a reason; they need no updating, only replicating.

01 – Where Or When
02 – Too Marvelous For Words
03 – I’ve Grown Accustomed To His Face
04 – The Boy From Ipanema
05 – Walk On By
06 – You’re My Thrill
07 – Este Seu Olhar
08 – So Nice
09 – Quiet Nights
10 – Guess I’ll Hang My Tears Out To Dry
11 – How Can You Mend A Broken Heart
12 – Everytime We Say Goodbye


%d bloggers like this: