Diana Krall – Love Scenes (1997/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Diana Krall – Love Scenes (1997/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 54:55 minutes | 1,07 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Universal Music

The fourth studio album from beloved jazz vocalist Diana Krall features a mix of timeless jazz classics played with a reverence for the classic age of swing songs. The album includes the hits Peel Me A Grape and They Can’t Take That Away From Me, as well as gems written by songwriters such as Irving Berlin, Percy Mayfield, Bing Crosby and Peggy Lee.

Vocalist/pianist Diana Krall was a very hot property by the time this Impulse CD was released. Teamed in a trio with her regular guitarist Russell Malone and bassist Christian McBride, Krall here mostly emphasizes ballads having something to do with love. She is at her best on “I Don’t Know Enough About You,” “I Don’t Stand a Ghost of a Chance With You,” and “How Deep Is the Ocean.” However, Krall’s earlier Nat King Cole tribute had more variety in tempos and moods and is recommended first. A decent but not essential release.

01 – All Or Nothing At All
02 – Peel Me A Grape
03 – I Don’t Know Enough About You
04 – I Miss You So
05 – They Can’t Take That Away From Me
06 – Lost Mind
07 – I Don’t Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You
08 – You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
09 – Gentle Rain
10 – How Deep Is The Ocean (How High Is The Sky)
11 – My Love Is
12 – Garden In The Rain

Produced by Tommy LiPuma. Recorded and Mixed by Al Schmitt.
Recorded at Avatar Studios, New York. Mixed at Schnee Studio, North Hollywood, CA.