Skip to content

Devon Gilfillian – What’s Going On (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Devon Gilfillian – What’s Going On (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:03 minutes | 859 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Capitol Records

As the events of 2020 have unfolded, Devon Gilfillian has sought solace and solutions in music – and found both in the timeless songs of Marvin Gaye’s 1971 album, What’s Going On, which took the No. 1 spot on Rolling Stone’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time,” published last week.

“I don’t have much political power, but I do have the power of music,” Gilfillian said in a news release. “I decided I wanted to learn the entirety of Marvin Gaye’s album, ‘What’s Going On,’ and use that music to raise money to fight voter suppression, bring people together, and share the message that Marvin was trying to get across.” (Devon Gilfillian)

Gilfillian has joined forces with a group of like-minded artists to bring fresh interpretations to the iconic album with his version of What’s Going On – set for October 22 release on Capitol Records – and tonight’s livestream concert, “There’s An Election Going On,” which will benefit Nashville-based grassroots non-profit The Equity Alliance.

“I work best under pressure and when I’m depressed,” he told the Detroit Free Press at the time. “The world’s never been as depressing as it is right now. We’re killing the planet, killing our young men in the streets, and going to war around the world. Human rights … that’s the theme.” (Devon Gilfillian). The resulting collection remains one of the most powerful and poignant albums in the history of American music.


1. Devon Gilfillian – What’s Going On
2. Devon Gilfillian – What’s Happening Brother
3. Devon Gilfillian – Flyin’ High (In The Friendly Sky)
4. Devon Gilfillian – Save The Children
5. Devon Gilfillian – God Is Love
6. Devon Gilfillian – Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
7. Devon Gilfillian – Right On
8. Devon Gilfillian – Wholy Holy
9. Devon Gilfillian – Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)


%d bloggers like this: