Skip to content

Devin Dawson – Dark Horse (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Devin Dawson – Dark Horse (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 42:57 minutes | 502 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Atlantic – Warner Music Nashville

Country pop has found one of its stars for 2018. The fans of Waylon Jennings or of Steve Earle can go on their way because Devin Dawson doesn’t follow the same path as his elders. Bottle-fed with rock that’s heightened with Alan Jackson’s country but also Marvin Gaye’s soul music and most of all the Beatles (of whom he is a big fan), the young Californian—who went on tour with big shots like Tim McGraw and Faith Hill—finally takes off musically and offers the entire scope of his talent. In folksy ballads or more up-tempo themes, Dawson first and foremost highlights his chameleon-like voice. It’s an organ that adapts to every context, a 100% country song or a rather unapologetic pop song. It’s incidentally this large stylistic palette which throws you off balance after first listening to this Dark Horse. DD varies widely and some will certainly be perplexed, yet it’s hard not to recognize his personal touch on each track of the record, as well as his already rather sharp writing.

01. Dip
02. All On Me
03. Asking For A Friend
04. Second to Last
05. Symptoms
06. I Don’t Care Who Sees
07. Secondhand Hurt
08. Placebo
09. War Paint
10. I Can’t Trust Myself
11. Prison
12. Dark Horse


%d bloggers like this: