Skip to content

Detroit Symphony Orchestra & Leonard Slatkin – McTee: Symphony No. 1 (2013/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Detroit Symphony Orchestra & Leonard Slatkin – McTee: Symphony No. 1 (2013/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:06:43 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD – Naxos

Leonard Slatkin and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra present this album, recorded live in 2010 and 2012, showcasing works by contemporary American composer Cindy McTee that embody the musical and cultural energy of modern day America. Her Symphony No. 1 is smartly assembled with diverse ideas that unfold naturally within an orchestral fabric, taking full advantage of the ensemble’s colouristic range. The use of computer music in Einstein’s Dream lends sonic complexity to a piece that celebrates the scientist’s work on quantum theory. The final piece, Double Play, was commissioned by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra.

“… certainly deserves the attention of anyone who is not hopelessly averse to modern works. The playing and recording are first rate … I found all the pieces well worth hearing.” – MusicWeb International

“… vivacious and fertile works … each shows a different aspect of McTee’s orchestral love, whether she’s conjuring whirlwind colours, arresting jazz riffs or kaleidoscopic computer sounds.” – Gramophone

1. Circuits 05:24
2. I. Introduction: On with the Dance 08:20
3. II. Adagio: Till a Silence Fell 11:48
4. III. Waltz: Light Fantastic 03:23
5. IV. Finale: Where Time Plays the Fiddle 06:46
6. Einstein’s Dream 14:18
7. I. The Unquestioned Answer 07:47
8. II. Tempus Fugit 08:57

Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Leonard Slatkin, conductor


%d bloggers like this: