Skip to content

Dennis Coffey & The Detroit Guitar Band – Electric Coffey (Remastered) (1972/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Dennis Coffey & The Detroit Guitar Band – Electric Coffey (Remastered) (1972/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 30:08 minutes | 584 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sussex Records

Although its myriad zodiac-inspired titles might suggest that Electric Coffey does little but rehash the punishing funk of Dennis Coffey’s classics “Scorpio” and “Taurus,” in truth it ranks alongside the guitarist’s most ambitious and accomplished LPs, exploring a vast swath of musical geography spanning from psychedelic soul to blues-rock. A monster drum break and deep-fried production conspire to make “Son of Scorpio” the sought-after cut among DJs, but Electric Coffey is much more than the sum of its parts. Coffey empties out his bag of studio tricks for “Capricorn’s Thing” and “The Sagittarian,” while “Love Song for Libra” and the acoustic “Lonely Moon Child” illustrate a newfound grasp of atmosphere and nuance.

01. Capricorn’s Thing
02. Son of Scorpio
03. Love Song for Libra
04. The Sagittarian
05. Love and Understanding
06. Guitar Big Band
07. Twins of Gemini
08. Virgo’s Song
09. Lonely Moon Child
Bob Babbitt, bass
Andrew Smith, drums
Dennis Coffey, guitar
Eric Morgeson, keyboards
Eddie “Bongo” Brown, percussion
Jack Ashford, percussion


%d bloggers like this: