Skip to content

Debussy, Britten, Garrop, Golijov – Illuminations – Avalon String Quartet (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Debussy, Britten, Garrop, Golijov – Illuminations – Avalon String Quartet (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:11:20 minutes | 1,22 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © Cedille Records
Recorded: December 15–18, 2014, at the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts at the University of Chicago

The Avalon String Quartet, “a remarkably fine ensemble” (The Strad), makes its Cedille Records debut with an irresistible and richly varied program of captivating works by Claude Debussy, Benjamin Britten, Osvaldo Golijov, and rising American composer Stacy Garrop.

The ensemble presents the world-premiere recording of Garrop’s String Quartet No. 4, Illuminations, a tantalizing, Pictures at an Exhibition-style tour of spectacular illustrations from an ornate medieval manuscript. Garrop’s music has been performed by superstar choir Chanticleer; the Detroit Symphony, Grant Park, and Minnesota Orchestras; and the Biava Quartet, Lincoln Trio, and International Contemporary Ensemble, among other notable groups. Debussy’s lush, exotic String Quartet in G minor unfolds through iridescent quasi-orchestral textures. Golijov’s lyrical, deeply moving Tenebrae (Latin for “shadows”), written for the Kronos Quartet, pays tender tribute to the earth, depicted in its remote celestial beauty, haunted by undertones of human discord. Britten’s youthful, energetic Three Divertimenti and Alla Marcia are alluring, rarely recorded studies in inventiveness and perpetual motion.

The Avalon is quartet-in-residence at the Northern Illinois University School of Music, a position formerly held by the distinguished Vermeer Quartet. The Chicago Tribune calls the Avalon “an ensemble that invites you — ears, mind, and spirit — into its music.” The award-winning quartet captured top prize at the ARD Competition in Munich (2000) as well as first prize at the Concert Artists Guild Competition in New York (1999).

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 10, L. 85
1. I. Anime et tres decide 06:26
2. II. Assez vif et bien rythme 03:46
3. III. Andantino doucement expressif 07:34
4. IV. Tres modere 07:17
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
3 Divertimenti
5. No. 1. March: Allegro maestoso 03:40
6. No. 2. Waltz: Allegretto 03:04
7. No. 3. Burlesque: Presto 03:27
8. Alla marcia 03:19
Stacy Garrop (b. 1969)
String Quartet No. 4 “Illuminations”
9. I. The Book of Hours is opened 01:40
10. II. Catherine of Cleves prays to the Virgin and Child 03:45
11. III. Singing Angels 01:24
12. IV. Interlude: Book of Hours 00:39
13. V. Christ carrying the Cross 02:52
14. VI. Interlude: Book of Hours 00:42
15. VII. Mouth of Hell 03:05
16. VIII. Trinity Enthroned 03:19
17. IX. The Book of Hours is closed 01:59
Osvaldo Golijov (b.1960)
18. Tenebrae (version for string quartet) 12:42

Blaise Magniere, violin
Marie Wang, violin
Anthony Devroye, viola
Cheng-Hou Lee, cello


%d bloggers like this: