Skip to content

David Gilmour – David Gilmour (1978/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

David Gilmour – David Gilmour (1978/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:48:41 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Parlophone UK

By the time of David Gilmour’s solo debut, he had not only established himself several times over as an underrated, powerful guitarist in Pink Floyd, but as a remarkably emotional singer, his soothing approach perfectly suited to such songs as “Wish You Were Here.” The self-titled album, recorded with journeyman bassist Rick Wills and Sutherland Brothers drummer Willie Wilson, later to be part of the touring Floyd lineup for its Wall dates, isn’t a deathless collection of music in comparison to Gilmour’s group heights, but is a reasonably pleasant listen nonetheless. Certainly it’s much more approachable than Animals, released earlier that year, eschewing epics for relatively shorter, reflective numbers. While Gilmour wrote the vast majority of the songs himself, the most successful number was co-written with Unicorn member Ken Baker: “There’s No Way Out of Here,” an agreeably dreamy, wistful song featuring an attractive acoustic slide guitar/harmonica hook. That it sounds a bit like a Pink Floyd outtake certainly doesn’t hurt, but one figures Roger Waters would have tried for some heavily barbed lyrics to offset the melancholy. Throughout the album Gilmour sounds like he’s having some jamming fun with his compatriots in his own particular blues-meets-the Home Counties style, adding keyboard overdubs here and there (his efforts are passable, but it’s understandable why he’s known for his guitar work first and foremost). Numbers of note include “Cry From the Street,” with its fully rocked-out conclusion, the sweetly sad “So Far Away,” one of his best vocal showcases, and the concluding “I Can’t Breathe Anymore,” capturing the recurrent Pink Floyd theme of isolation quite well. While one would be hard-pressed to hum a memorable melody outside of “There’s No Way Out of Here,” it’s still a good enough experience for those who enjoy his work.

1. David Gilmour – Mihalis
2. David Gilmour – There’s No Way Out of Here
3. David Gilmour – Cry From The Street
4. David Gilmour – So Far Away
5. David Gilmour – Short And Sweet
6. David Gilmour – Raise My Rent
7. David Gilmour – No Way
8. David Gilmour – Deafinitely
9. David Gilmour – I Can’t Breathe Anymore


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: