Skip to content

David Gilmour – About Face (1984/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

David Gilmour – About Face (1984/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:45:45 minutes | 938 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Parlophone UK

David Gilmour released his second solo venture in 1984, following the apparent dissolution of Pink Floyd. He had released a record on his own in 1978, but About Face is much more accessible. Gilmour has a stellar band backing him, including Jeff Porcaro (drums), Pino Palladino (bass), and Anne Dudley (synthesizer). The songs on About Face show a pop sensibility that Pink Floyd rarely was concerned with achieving. Although the album didn’t attract the attention of a Floyd release, several cuts did manage to get airplay. “Until We Sleep” is rife with shimmering synthesizers and cavernous drums, and “Blue Light” was a minor pop hit, with Gilmour’s trademark delay-drenched guitar giving way to a driving, horn-laced rocker. Pete Townshend wrote two of the tracks: “Love on the Air” and the propulsive “All Lovers Are Deranged.” Of course, there’s more than enough of Gilmour’s fluid guitar playing to satisfy, including the gorgeous “Murder,” a gentle acoustic track that explodes with some fiery organ by Steve Winwood and concludes with a fierce coda. About Face is well-honed rock album that is riveting from beginning to end.

1. David Gilmour – Until We Sleep
2. David Gilmour – Murder
3. David Gilmour – Love On the Air
4. David Gilmour – Blue Light
5. David Gilmour – Out of the Blue
6. David Gilmour – All Lovers Are Deranged
7. David Gilmour – You Know I’m Right
8. David Gilmour – Cruise
9. David Gilmour – Let’s Get Metaphysical
10. David Gilmour – Near The End


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: