Skip to content

David Bowie – Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (2017 Remaster) (1980/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

David Bowie – Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (2017 Remaster) (1980/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 45:43 minutes | 1,83 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Parlophone UK

Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps), also known simply as Scary Monsters,[a] is the 14th studio album by English musician David Bowie, released on 12 September 1980 by RCA Records. Over the past three years, Bowie garnered massive artistic success with the “Berlin Trilogy”, which consisted of Low, “Heroes” and Lodger (1977–1979). However, the trilogy had proven less successful commercially. By 1980, numerous artists Bowie had inspired with the trilogy were out-performing him commercially, leading him to desire a more commercial sound for his next record.

Co-produced by Tony Visconti, the album was recorded between February and April 1980. Sessions primarily took place at the Power Station in New York City, with additional recording undergone at Good Earth Studios in London. Much of the same personnel from prior releases returned for the sessions, with additional guitar work done by King Crimson member Robert Fripp, who previously played on “Heroes”, and a guest appearance by guitarist Pete Townshend of the Who. The music on the album has elements of art rock, new wave and post-punk. Unlike prior releases, Bowie spent time writing the music and lyrics; several were recorded under working titles throughout the sessions while some of the tracks contained reworked elements of earlier, unreleased songs. The album cover is a large-scale collage that features Bowie donning a Pierrot costume, along with references to his prior releases on the rear sleeve.

David Bowie returned to relatively conventional rock & roll with Scary Monsters, an album that effectively acts as an encapsulation of all his ’70s experiments. Reworking glam rock themes with avant-garde synth flourishes, and reversing the process as well, Bowie creates dense but accessible music throughout Scary Monsters. Though it doesn’t have the vision of his other classic records, it wasn’t designed to break new ground — it was created as the culmination of Bowie’s experimental genre-shifting of the ’70s. As a result, Scary Monsters is Bowie’s last great album. While the music isn’t far removed from the post-punk of the early ’80s, it does sound fresh, hip, and contemporary, which is something Bowie lost over the course of the ’80s. [Rykodisc’s 1992 reissue includes re-recorded versions of “Space Oddity” and “Panic in Detroit,” the Japanese single “Crystal Japan,” and the British single “Alabama Song.”] – Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1. David Bowie – It’s No Game (Pt. 1) (2017 Remaster)
2. David Bowie – Up the Hill Backwards (2017 Remaster)
3. David Bowie – Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (2017 Remaster)
4. David Bowie – Ashes to Ashes (2017 Remaster)
5. David Bowie – Fashion (2017 Remaster)
6. David Bowie – Teenage Wildlife (2017 Remaster)
7. David Bowie – Scream Like a Baby (2017 Remaster)
8. David Bowie – Kingdom Come (2017 Remaster)
9. David Bowie – Because You’re Young (2017 Remaster)
10. David Bowie – It’s No Game (Pt. 2) (2017 Remaster)


%d bloggers like this: