Skip to content

Dave Bass – No Boundaries (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Dave Bass – No Boundaries (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:12:34 minutes | 1,26 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Whaling City Sound

The saying goes that everyone’s got a story to tell. But chances are good that few, if any, have the kind of story Dave Bass has. Without resorting to detail, Bass’s rebirth as a jazz musician after decades away from the art is nothing short of astonishing. Having retired from the Office of the Attorney General of California back in 2015, Bass is back at the piano, where he promises to keep the torch burning for classic songs, elegant bebop and beautiful performance. No Boundaries features two-time Grammy winner Ted Nash (flute, alto flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano sax, alto sax, tenor sax), five-time Grammy nominee Karrin Allyson (vocals), and two-time Grammy winner Carlos Henriquez (bass). Jerome Jennings is on drums. On the Afro-Cuban tunes, two-time Latin Grammy winner Carlos Caro, Mauricio Herrera, and Miguel Valdes join on bata, conga, bongo and timbales. His third album since his comeback, his second for the acclaimed Whaling City Sound label, is a celebration of gorgeous playing and lovely Latin influence. It’s also a dream come true, not only for Bass who is fulfilling his own lifelong dream, but also for his fans, who have waited a long time to hear this gifted musician-interrupted by injury and another incredibly successful but unrelated career-come into his own.

1 Lennie’s Pennies 05:31
2 Spy Movie End Credits 07:13
3 Agenbite of Inwit 04:40
4 If I Loved You 06:20
5 La Mulata Rumbera 06:07
6 Tango Adagio 04:29
7 Time of My Life 04:08
8 Siboney 05:24
9 Neither Have I Wings 05:49
10 Danzon #1 07:05
11 Swing Theory 05:09
12 In The Rain: In the Rain 06:44
13 Hallucinations 03:55

Dave Bass, piano
Ted Nash, flute, alto flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano sax, alto sax, tenor sax (all tracks except 13)
Karrin Allyson, vocals (tracks 4, 7)
Carlos Henriquez, bass
Jerome Jennings, drums (all tracks except 5, 8, 10)
Carlos Caro, guiro, bongos, bell (tracks 2, 4, 5, 8, 10)
Miguel Valdes, bata, conga (tracks 5, 8, 10)
Mauricio Hernandez, timbales, maracas (tracks 4, 5, 8, 10)


%d bloggers like this: