Skip to content

Daniil Trifonov – Silver Age (Extended Edition) (2020/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Daniil Trifonov – Silver Age (Extended Edition) (2020/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:34:32 minutes | 2,62 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Here, Daniil Trifonov brings us an exciting itinerary that mixes solo piano and concert performances with a challenging programme. Now fully mature, Trifinov intends to demonstrate how the Russian composers at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries were truly modern. The period is known in Russia as the “Silver Age” and corresponds with modernism’s “fin de siècle”. The Silver Age covers the whole range of fine arts, as well as haute couture, design and – of course – music and ballet.

However, most of the programme comes from two composers who developed their modern sound outside of Russia. Stravinsky, who had long been considered a dissident, is now being reclaimed by Russian performers. None of his works (except those written when he was extremely young) were performed at the time in his home country. Having lost the score of his Concerto No. 2 in the turmoil of the 1917 Revolution, Prokofiev later rewrote it in Paris in a completely new style.

Scriabin’s signature mystical vision that Daniil Trifonov talks about in the cover notes was not yet present in his Piano Concerto. This composition is a very romantic and rather academic early work written in the wake of Chopin, who was the young Scriabin’s idol.

In addition to its great historical interest, this program is noteworthy thanks to Trifonov’s expressive playing in the solo pieces recorded at Princeton University in New Jersey, as well as in the two concertos conducted here by the ardent Valery Gergiev at the head of his St. Petersburg Mariinsky Orchestra. – François Hudry


1. Daniil Trifonov – I. Hymn
2. Daniil Trifonov – II. Romance
3. Daniil Trifonov – III. Rondoletto
4. Daniil Trifonov – IV. Final Cadence
5. Daniil Trifonov – I. Tempestoso
6. Daniil Trifonov – II. Allegro rubato
7. Daniil Trifonov – III. Allegro precipitato
8. Daniil Trifonov – IV. Smanioso
9. Daniil Trifonov – V. Precipitosissimo
10. Daniil Trifonov – I. Andante dolce
11. Daniil Trifonov – II. Andante sognando
12. Daniil Trifonov – III. Vivace
13. Daniil Trifonov – II. Gavotte
14. Daniil Trifonov – I. Danse infernale du Roi Kastchei (Transc. by Guido Agosti)
15. Daniil Trifonov – II. Berceuse (Transc. by Guido Agosti)
16. Daniil Trifonov – III. Finale (Transc. by Guido Agosti)
17. Daniil Trifonov – I. Andantino
18. Daniil Trifonov – II. Scherzo. Vivace
19. Daniil Trifonov – III. Intermezzo. Allegro moderato
20. Daniil Trifonov – IV. Finale. Allegro tempestoso
21. Daniil Trifonov – I. Danse russe
22. Daniil Trifonov – II. Chez Petrouchka
23. Daniil Trifonov – III. La semaine grasse
24. Daniil Trifonov – I. Allegro
25. Daniil Trifonov – IIa. Andante
26. Daniil Trifonov – IIb. Variation 1
27. Daniil Trifonov – IIc. Variation 2
28. Daniil Trifonov – IId. Variation 3
29. Daniil Trifonov – IIe. Variation 4 – Tempo 1. Andante
30. Daniil Trifonov – III. Allegro moderato
31. Daniil Trifonov – I. Andante cantabile
32. Daniil Trifonov – II. Allegro, con eleganzza, con fiducia
33. Daniil Trifonov – IV. in F Sharp Major: Andante
34. Daniil Trifonov – V. in C Sharp Minor: Affannato


%d bloggers like this: