Skip to content

Daniel Behle – Schubert: Arias & Overtures (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Daniel Behle – Schubert: Arias & Overtures (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:18 minutes | 1,0 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © deutsche harmonia mundi

Of all the great composers, Schubert left by far the largest number of uncompleted works: symphonies, piano and chamber music, songs, choral music and operas. Six of the latter are represented on this disc—the early ‘Adrast’ written around the age of twenty and ‘Fierebras’ written in 1823, five years before the sudden end of his short life. Schubert made many attempts to achieve success on the Viennese operatic stage but was singularly unlucky in doing so. Consequently none of his operatic music ever entered the repertoire and today it remains the most unknown aspect of his work. Therefore this disc is an assembly of some very rare music indeed, most of which has never before been recorded. Indeed, most of these operas and singspiels have never been professionally staged since they were written. For this recording, German tenor Daniel Behle travelled to Linz/Austria and worked together with the L’Orfeo Baroque Orchestra, conducted by Michi Gaigg. German tenor and composer Daniel Behle is without question one of the leading lyric German tenors of the moment. He made his Royal Opera debut in the 2016/17 Season as Ferrando (Così fan tutte) and was highly-celebrated. Behle is possibly best-known for his adaption of Schubert’s Winterreise for tenor and piano trio, performed in 2015 at the Wigmore Hall and recorded for Sony Classical with Behle and the Oliver Schnyder Trio.


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Die Zauberharfe, D. 644
1 Ouvertüre 09:59
2 Was belebt die schöne Welt? 03:18
3 Ouvertüre zum dritten Akt 03:42

Claudine von Villa Bella, D. 239
4 Es erhebt sich eine Stimme 03:30

Die Freunde von Salamanka, D. 326
5 Aus Blumen deuten die Damen gern 01:48
6 Es murmeln die Quellen, es leuchtet der Stern 01:27

Adrast, D. 137
7 Ein schlafend Kind… In diesem waldumschloss’nen und abgeleg’nen Raum 03:58
8 Meine Seele, die dich liebt 02:21

Lazarus, D. 689
9 Wenn ich ihm nachgerungen habe 02:56

Alfonso und Estrella, D. 732
10 Ouvertür06:25
11 Schon, wenn es beginnt zu tagen, wird in mir die Sehnsucht wach 03:04
12 Wenn ich dich Holde sehe 01:39

Fierabras, D. 796
13 Der Abend sinkt auf stiller Flur 03:04
14 Was quälst du mich, oh Missgeschick!… In tief bewegter Brust 05:41

Das Zauberglöckchen, D. 723
15 Der Tag entflieht, der Abend glüht 06:38

Daniel Behle, tenor
L’Orfeo Barockorchester


%d bloggers like this: