Skip to content

Daniel Barenboim – Debussy – Fantaisie, Violin Sonata, Cello Sonata, La mer (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Daniel Barenboim – Debussy – Fantaisie, Violin Sonata, Cello Sonata, La mer (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:12:20 minutes | 679 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

In 1949, two Argentinian child prodigies met and made music together for the first time – Martha Argerich and Daniel Barenboim – the rest, as they say, is history. Childhood friends, they rank as two of the world’s golden musicians as well as incomparable pianists, and over the years they have developed a close artistic partnership. To celebrate her 80th birthday, Argerich releases her first recording of Debussy’s Fantaisie accompanied by Maestro Barenboim and “his” Staatskapelle Berlin.

Daniel Barenboim has sometimes performed the music of Debussy, especially during the later part of his career, but Debussy interpretations are not something for which he is particularly known. Thus this release of Debussy works, on the rare side except for La Mer at the end, is commendable; it shows Barenboim, approaching his 80th year, continuing to take chances and explore new repertory. The show opens with the Fantaisie for piano and orchestra, L 73, not commonly heard, although it is really Debussy’s only piano concerto. It’s an early work, but more than most other Debussy pieces from the period, it shows the composer injecting his own style at every turn into a framework of Massenet and, especially, Franck. Barenboim teams with pianist Martha Argerich, and the pair offers a relaxed performance that brings out the proto-Impressionist touches. In the terse, dark Violin Sonata, L 140, and Cello Sonata, L. 135, Barenboim at the keyboard is joined by son Michael Barenboim and Kian Soltani, respectively, with impressively spare results. La Mer, with Barenboim leading the Staatskapelle Dresden, is clean and effective if not revelatory. Recorded in 2018 and released in 2021, this is a worthy entry in Barenboim’s remarkable late-life catalog.


1. Martha Argerich – I. Andante ma non troppo
2. Martha Argerich – II. Lento e molto espressivo
3. Martha Argerich – III. Allegro molto
4. Michael Barenboim – I. Allegro vivo
5. Michael Barenboim – II. Intermède. Fantasque et léger
6. Michael Barenboim – III. Finale. Très animé
7. Kian Soltani – I. Prologue. Lent
8. Kian Soltani – II. Sérénade et Finale. Modérément animé
9. Kian Soltani – III. Finale. Animé
10. Staatskapelle Berlin – I. De l’aube à midi sur la mer
11. Staatskapelle Berlin – II. Jeux de vagues
12. Staatskapelle Berlin – III. Dialogue du vent et de la mer


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: