Skip to content

Curtis Stigers – Hooray For Love (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Curtis Stigers – Hooray For Love (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 39:33 minutes | 758 MB | Genre: Jazz, Vocal
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | ©  Concord Music Group
Recorded: April 15-17, 2013 at Brooklyn Recording in Brooklyn, NY.

Let’s Go Out Tonight is Curtis Stigers’ 10th studio album and was recorded towards the end of a marriage of two decades. On that record, produced by Larry Klein, the singer chose darker material by Dylan, Crowded House and The Blue Nile. The result was a scintillating collection that represents some of the most innovative vocal jazz in a decade. Stigers’ new release is decidedly more upbeat, which he says he owes to a newfound love, but his ability to interpret work from seemingly disparate sources is still on display.

A one-time adult contemporary star — his 1991 eponymous debut was produced by Glen Ballard and, not long afterward, he made Nick Lowe a millionaire thanks to his cover of “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace Love and Understanding” on The Bodyguard soundtrack — Curtis Stigers long ago established himself as a skilled jazz singer and his 2014 set, Hooray for Love, is perhaps his most traditional record yet. Light on originals — the title track and “Give Your Heart to Me” are the only tunes that bear his credits — and also skimpy on the kinds of unexpected covers that distinguished his new millennial records (only Steve Earle’s “Valentine’s Day” fits that bill), Hooray for Love is anchored on the songs that everybody knows and loves: “You Make Me Feel So Young,” performed here as a duet with Cyrille Aimee, “The Way You Look Tonight,” “A Matter of Time,” and “If I Were a Bell.” As recognizable as these songs are, Stigers doesn’t seem stifled by their reputation. The intimate setting — featuring no more than pianist Matthew Fries, guitarist Matt Munisteri, bassist Cliff Schmitt, drummer Keith Hall, and trumpeter John “Scrapper” Sneider, who also produces — allows Stigers to be limber and he’s also happy to fade into the background and let his band just play. This looseness is what keeps Hooray for Love so engaging: Stigers isn’t simply enjoying singing, he’s enjoying playing with his band. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Love Is Here To Stay 4:20
2 Valentine 3:44
3 You Make Me Feel So Young (feat. Cyrille Aimee) 4:35
4 Hooray For Love 2:48
5 The Way You Look Tonight 4:53
6 Give Your Heart To Me 3:53
7 That 3:47
8 A Matter Of Time 2:56
9 If I Were A Bell 3:15
10 You Don 5:22

Curtis Stigers – vocals, tenor saxophone
Matthew Fries – piano
Cliff Schmitt – bass
Keith Hall – drums
John “Scrapper” Sneider – trumpet, vibes
Matt Munisteri – guitar
Cyrille Aimée – vocals


%d bloggers like this: