Skip to content

Crowded House – Temple Of Low Men (1988/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Crowded House – Temple Of Low Men (1988/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:37:55 minutes | 809 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Capitol Records

Temple of Low Men is the second studio album by New Zealand-Australian rock band Crowded House, released by Capitol Records on 5 July 1988. The three band members, Neil Finn, Nick Seymour and Paul Hester, recorded the album in Melbourne and Los Angeles with Mitchell Froom as producer. Finn had written all ten tracks during the two years since their self-titled debut. Temple of Low Men peaked at number one in Australia, number two in New Zealand, number ten in Canada and number 40 on the US Billboard 200.

It provided five singles, “Better Be Home Soon” (July 1988), “When You Come” (August), “Into Temptation” (December), “Sister Madly” (1989), and “I Feel Possessed” (January 1990).

Following the success of Crowded House’s debut and the band’s grueling promotion schedule, Neil Finn was clearly showing signs that he was no longer happy being New Zealand’s zany ambassador to the U.S. While the material on Temple of Low Men demonstrates great leaps in quality over its predecessor, it is a darkly difficult album, especially for those expecting Crowded House, Pt. 2 — in short, there are no immediately accessible singles. Instead, Finn digs into the depths of his emotional psyche with obsessive detail, crafting a set of intense, personal songs that range from the all-too-intimate look at infidelity of “Into Temptation” to the raucous exorcism of “Kill Eye.” Through all of this introspective soul-searching, Finn reveals most of all his true mastery of melody. – Chris Woodstra

01. Crowded House – I Feel Possessed
02. Crowded House – Kill Eye
03. Crowded House – Into Temptation
04. Crowded House – Mansion In The Slums
05. Crowded House – When You Come
06. Crowded House – Never Be The Same
07. Crowded House – Love This Life
08. Crowded House – Sister Madly
09. Crowded House – In The Lowlands
10. Crowded House – Better Be Home Soon


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: