Skip to content

Crowded House – Crowded House (1986/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Crowded House – Crowded House (1986/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 39:06 minutes | 1,58 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © CAPITOL

‘Crowded House’ is the debut self-titled album by Crowded House, released in June 1986. There were 5 singles from the album and one of them, Don’t Dream It’s Over is the band’s signature song and was their first international hit, reaching #1 in Canada and #2 in the US.

When this sparkling debut by the three-piece Crowded House made its appearance in 1987, those starved for hooks minus the usual sentimentality were finally sated. New Zealander Neil Finn came all the way to Los Angeles from Australia, bringing with him some of the finest melodies and knowing lyrics to come down the pop-music pike in years. With immaculate production and keyboard additions by Mitchell Froom, (who found his fame with this band), „Crowded House“ proved to be a stellar debut.

Neil Finn first made his mark as a member of his big brother Tim’s band, Split Enz. His contribution to that band gave Split Enz its first international hits (the most notable of which was ‘I Got You’). Finn continued this tradition of writing and performing harmony-rich gems when he formed Crowded House with Split Enz drummer Paul Hester and Melbourne bassist Nick Seymour. Featuring the beautiful yet ambiguous ‘Don’t Dream Its Over’ (covered by Paul Young at the Nelson Mandela Tribute Concert), ‘World Where You Live,’ and ‘Something So Strong,’ „Crowded House“ is the ideal introduction to the delights of Neil Finn and his exceptional band.

‘…guitars jangle and warble and scrape around while songwriter Neil Finn’s voice swung from a serenade to a kind of sculpted holler….each song [providing] a lyrical shock tied to a perfect hook…’ (CMJ)

01. Mean To Me
02. World Where You Live
03. Now We’re Getting Somewhere
04. Don’t Dream It’s Over
05. Love You ‘Til The Day I Die
06. Something So Strong
07. Hole In The River
08. Can’t Carry On
09. I Walk Away
10. Tombstone
11. That’s What I Call Love

Neil Finn, guitar, lead vocals, piano
Nick Seymour, bass
Paul Hester, drums, backing vocals
Additional musicians:
Tim Pierce, guitar
Jim Keltner, drums (‘Now We’re Getting Somewhere’)
Jerry Scheff, bass (‘Now We’re Getting Somewhere’)
Noel Crombie, background vocals
Jim Gilstrap, background vocals
Andy Milton, background vocals
Joe Satriani, background vocals
George Bermudez, percussion
Heart Attack Horns, horns
Mitchell Froom, keyboards
Produced by Mitchell Froom, Neil Finn

Digitally remastered

Ranked #71 in Rolling Stone’s ‘100 Greatest Albums Of The 80s’ survey


%d bloggers like this: