Skip to content

Count Basie & Joe Williams – Count Basie Swings, Joe Williams Sings (1955/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Count Basie & Joe Williams – Count Basie Swings, Joe Williams Sings (1955/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 42:51 minutes | 228 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

Joe Williams’ debut as the featured vocalist in Count Basie’s band was one of those landmark moments that even savvy observers don’t fully appreciate when it occurs, then realize years later how momentous an event they witnessed. Williams brought a different presence to the great Basie orchestra than the one Jimmy Rushing provided; he couldn’t shout like Rushing, but he was more effective on romantic and sentimental material, while he was almost as spectacular on surging blues, up-tempo wailers, and stomping standards. Basie’s band maintained an incredible groove behind Williams, who moved from authoritative statements on “Every Day I Have the Blues” and “Please Send Me Someone to Love” to brisk workouts on “Roll ‘Em Pete” and his definitive hit, “All Right, OK, You Win”.

01. Every Day I Have The Blues (05:29)
02. The Comeback (05:28)
03. All Right, OK, You Win (03:05)
04. In The Evening (When The Sun Goes Down) (03:39)
05. Roll ‘Em Pete (03:12)
06. Teach Me Tonight (03:04)
07. My Baby Upsets Me (02:58)
08. Please Send Me Someone To Love (03:33)
09. Ev’ry Day (I Fall In Love) (03:48)
10. As I Love You (03:06)
11. Stop! Don’t! (02:36)
12. Too Close For Comfort (Take 1) (02:53)


%d bloggers like this: