Skip to content

Converge & Chelsea Wolfe – Bloodmoon: I (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Converge & Chelsea Wolfe – Bloodmoon: I (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:58:44 minutes | 1,19 GB | Genre: Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epitaph

“We wanted to do something grander than the typical four-piece Converge music.” That’s Converge vocalist Jacob Bannon talking about the seed of inspiration that eventually bloomed into Bloodmoon: I, the new collaborative album created by the legendary hardcore band alongside dark songstress Chelsea Wolfe, her bandmate/writing partner Ben Chisholm and Cave In vocalist/guitarist Steve Brodsky.

This is not the first time Converge has collaborated with other artists with flamboyant results. From the classic split (with Napalm Death, Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Coalesce…) to the album packed full of guests (Axe to Fall), the Salem musicians have had plenty of success with their partners in crime. But the best was yet to come. The Bloodmoon project, which was first staged at the 2016 Roadburn festival in Tilburg, the Netherlands, brought together the band’s members plus singer Chelsea Wolfe, her loyal collaborator Ben Chisholm and Stephen Brodsky (Cave In) who set the stage ablaze with the band’s slowest and heaviest tracks. Three years later, the young band wanted to do the same again, but this time in the studio, with original songs written for the occasion. The global health crisis and timetabling problems nearly killed the venture stone dead, but it was saved by the passion and tenacity of the people involved.

Better late than never. After a few months in limbo, the project that they started in the studio was finally completed remotely. The result lives up to expectations. Combining the firepower of Converge with the gothic beauty of Chelsea Wolfe’s vocals, this first volume (we hope the first of many, considering its name) delivers terrible doom anthems of a dark beauty rarely reached in this genre (Blood Moon, Coil) interspersed with some harder songs (Tongues Playing Dead, Lords of Liars). While Converge has already proved its ability to move between registers, here it demonstrates a certain subtlety thanks to its magnificent fellow travellers. The success of this work is reminiscent of the work done by the Cult of Luna—Julie Christmas’ team on the Mariner project. More than a collaboration, this is a real new group in its own right whose breathtaking cohesion has provided the basis for a masterful début. Gothic mathcore exists, and this album is proof of that. – Chief Brody

1. Blood Moon (07:50)
2. Viscera of Men (05:29)
3. Coil (06:08)
4. Flower Moon (04:38)
5. Tongues Playing Dead (04:12)
6. Lord of Liars (03:21)
7. Failure Forever (04:02)
8. Scorpion’s Sting (05:48)
9. Daimon (06:59)
10. Crimson Stone (06:47)
11. Blood Dawn (03:30)


%d bloggers like this: