Skip to content

Concrete Blonde – Mexican Moon (1993/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Concrete Blonde – Mexican Moon (1993/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:02:38 minutes | 2,54 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © CAPITOL

After the demise of their original label, I.R.S., Concrete Blonde released Mexican Moon on Capitol in the fall of 1993. The band, once again, produced themselves with Sean Freehill, and Paul Thompson returned to the fold on drums after sitting out Walking in London due to immigration problems.

The album is a striking marriage of Johnette Napolitano’s dark, lyrical imagery and the band’s alternative-tinged pop sensibilities making it, perhaps, their most fully realized effort. “Jenny I Read” kicks things off with the tale of a chance encounter of a fallen, reclusive starlet. Guitarist James Mankey shows versatility playing acoustic and Spanish guitar on the dreamy title track and the wah-wah effects of the brooding “Jesus Forgive Me (For the Things I’m About to Say).” “Heal It Up” was the unsuccessful single but is a bracing number with a ferocious vocal performance by Napolitano. Despite the inspired playing, intelligent and insightful lyrics, and the crisp production, Mexican Moon failed to expand the group’s audience and would prove to be their last release before breaking up.

01. Jenny I Read (5:20)
02. Mexican Moon (5:03)
03. Heal It Up (4:21)
04. Jonestown (6:10)
05. Rain (3:29)
06. I Call It Love (5:15)
07. Jesus Forgive Me (For The Things I’m About To Say) (5:17)
08. When You Smile (4:21)
09. Close To Home (3:32)
10. One Of My Kind (3:55)
11. End Of The Line (4:41)
12. (Love Is A) Blind Ambition (6:11)
13. Bajo La Lune Mexicana (5:08)

Recorded at Kitchen Sync and Cherokee Studios, Hollywood, California
Engineered by Earle Mankey; Sean Freehill Produced by Concrete Blonde with Sean Freehill
Digitally remastered


%d bloggers like this: