Skip to content

Colter Wall – Colter Wall (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Colter Wall – Colter Wall (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:20 minutes | 761 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Young Mary’s Record Co.

Colter Wall is an up-and-coming lonesome country music baritone whose impressive songwriting career is featured here on his debut, self-titled release. Wall’s authentic and personal crooning, coupled with his personal lyric writing, has made him a Nashville darling and personal favourite of famed record producer Dave Cobb.

His name has a ring to it. His shaggy face is a knockout. And his rustic country sound, like his already-mature pen, strikes at the heart. Just a little over twenty and this Canadian with a cowboy voice ravaged by time and Jack Daniel’s seems to be stepping out of the golden age of the genre. Now installed in deep Kentucky, Colter Wall has already opened for Lucinda Williams and Margo Price, received a blessing urbi et orbi from Steve Earle and his beautiful Sleeping On The Blacktop has found its way onto the soundtrack of Hell or High Water, David Mackenzie’s thriller. But on to the album! Produced by Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Jason Isbell), the work is stunning. No ornaments, no effects, just brutal and raw! Colter Wall plays his songs solo on acoustic guitar. It’s a total paring-down, the better to bring out the lyrics within the sound. A man of taste, the young man has even had the idea of covering the wonderful Fraulein written in 1957 by Lawton Williams and sung by Bobby Helms, and of which Townes Van Zandt recorded a fairly legendary version on his album The Late Great Townes Van Zandt… Profoundly human, Wall brings to mind a frenetic medley of names: Fred Neil, Woody and Arlo Guthrie, and Johnny Cash. Heavy references for a person to bear, but nothing that would faze Colter Wall…


01 – Thirteen Silver Dollars
02 – Codeine Dream
03 – Me And Big Dave
04 – Motorcycle
05 – Kate McCannon
06 – W.B.’s Talkin
07 – Snake Mountain Blues
08 – You Look To Yours
09 – Transcendent Ramblin’ Railroad Blues
10 – Fraulein
11 – Bald Butte

Please note: track “6” is 44.1 kHz / 24-bit, mastered in 96.


%d bloggers like this: