Clelia Iruzun – Oswald, Saint-Saëns & Nepomuceno: Piano Works (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Clelia Iruzun – Oswald, Saint-Saëns & Nepomuceno: Piano Works (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:11:53 minutes | 1,09 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © SOMM Recordings

SOMM Recordings is pleased to announce the return of the acclaimed partnership of pianist Clélia Iruzun and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Jac van Steen with two colourful late-19th-century Romantic Piano Concertos from Brazil and France: Henrique Oswalds G minor Piano Concerto, Op.10 and the Fifth Piano Concerto in F major (Op.103) by Camille Saint-Saëns.

Iruzun’s Brazilian compatriot Henrique Oswald shared a long friendship with Camille Saint-Saëns based on mutual admiration for each other as composers and pianists. They occasionally performed together some of Saint-Saëns’ music for two pianos in public recitals.

Saint-Saëns’ exotic Fifth Piano Concerto, the Egyptian, was composed during a North African holiday in 1896. Combining complex piano writing with a deft lightness of touch, it boasts a lyrical main theme (described by Saint-Saëns as “a Nubian love song”), hypnotic echoes of the gamelan and a finale bursting with virtuosity.

Oswald’s Piano Concerto was composed in Italy a decade before Saint-Saëns’ Egyptian. With bravura passages recalling Saint-Saëns’ Second Piano Concerto, its richly Romantic vein carries allusions to Fauré while brimming with Oswald’s intriguing native Brazilian rhythms.

1. Clelia Iruzun – I. Allegro un poco agitato (14:56)
2. Clelia Iruzun – II. Adagio (07:57)
3. Clelia Iruzun – III. Allegro (07:01)
4. Clelia Iruzun – I. Allegro animato (11:26)
5. Clelia Iruzun – II. Andante (10:53)
6. Clelia Iruzun – III. Molto allegro (06:29)
7. Clelia Iruzun – I. Prélude (01:15)
8. Clelia Iruzun – II. Menuet (04:05)
9. Clelia Iruzun – III. Air (04:20)
10. Clelia Iruzun – IV. Rigaudon (03:29)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: