Claire Martin – He never mentioned love (2007) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Claire Martin – He never mentioned love (2007)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:47 minutes | 1,29 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Linn Records

Claire Martin returns with this stylish tribute to the late and legendary American songstress Shirley Horn. “He never mentioned love” sees the UK’s finest jazz singer investigate songs memorably performed by her greatest influence.

I generally wait with baited breath for each release from Claire Martin; the versatile English jazz singer has rarely disappointed me, and this loving tribute to the recently departed Shirley Horn is no exception. Included are twelve songs that were a part of Shirley Horn’s recorded canon, and one tune, Slowly But Shirley, that was specially composed for this project. As with all of Claire Martin’s albums, the level of musicianship is beyond reproach, and the glory of the music shows through on this pure-DSD multichannel SACD from Linn Records.
While it’s hard to pick and choose from so many good tracks, there are a few really noteworthy numbers that are so musically satisfying, they easily cover the cost of admission. Trav’llin’ Light, a trio number, features the superb double bass work of Steve Watts with equally nimble guitar accompaniment from Jim Mullen. The smoky-sweet alto of Claire Martin is the icing on an already delicious track. Leon Russell’s classic A Song For You was a favorite of Shirley Horn, and Claire gives it her own signature treatment, including another really swinging solo from Jim Mullen. Gareth Williams’ smooth electric piano work gives the tune a really funky seventies vibe. You’re Nearer features both Steve Watts on double bass and Laurence Cottle on bass. Early on, Laurence Cottle plays his instrument exclusively in higher registers and as the lead instrument, giving the tune a really cool and truly unique quality. L.A. Breakdown is a superb blues number that reaches a sustained smooth groove that could just go on forever.

1. Claire Martin – He never mentioned love (05:08)
2. Claire Martin – Forget me (03:59)
3. Claire Martin – Everything must change (05:18)
4. Claire Martin – Trav’llin’ light (02:44)
5. Claire Martin – The music that makes me dance (06:11)
6. Claire Martin – All night long (03:41)
7. Claire Martin – If you go (04:57)
8. Claire Martin – A song for you (04:59)
9. Claire Martin – Slowly but Shirley (04:06)
10. Claire Martin – You’re nearer (04:39)
11. Claire Martin – L.A. breakdown (05:23)
12. Claire Martin – Slow time (04:09)
13. Claire Martin – The sun died (05:26)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: