Skip to content

Christy Baron – Take This Journey (2002) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Christy Baron – Take This Journey (2002)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 52:18 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Chesky Records

“There’s purity to Baron’s singing, an unfiltered honesty that’s as refreshing as an early morning snowfall and fulfilling as a heartfelt compliment.” – JazzTimes

A truly talented vocalist, Christy Baron brings us her third release entitled Take This Journey, again revealing an intriguing repertoire of modern classics delivered through her evocative voice. But it’s not only the sound of her voice that captivates the audience … her ability to maintain the delicate balance between the musical and poetic ideas of both the composer and lyricist creates the kind of mood that prepares the listener for a simply wonderful journey.

Take This Journey is a story, a reflection of life that captures the wonderful reality of the genuine interactions we share with the people around us. Christy’s rendition of the Turtles’ classic “Happy Together” sets the tone of the record with her sultry yet optimistic recording that is nothing less than convincing. The album features songs from Carole King including “Stand Behind Me” and “First Day in August,” and an incisive version of “Bitter With The Sweet.”

Christy’s clear vocalizations are apparent when she explains the sad fact that “A House Is Not a Home” and sets the limits in Sondheim’s Sweeney Todd classic “Not While I’m Around.” The darker side of life is apparent through Sinatra’s classic “Old Devil Moon” and Cleo Lane’s “The Lies of Handsome Men.” But don’t lose hope just yet … a captivating rendition of Stevie Wonder’s “Overjoyed” showcases Baron’s optimism in mankind. Christy Baron communicates the pleasure and the pain of our existence in Take This Journey, appealing to the intellectual listener with her sweet, knowing recognition of life’s wonder.

01 – Happy Together
02 – Gentle Journey
03 – Not While I’m Around
04 – I’m All Smiles
05 – A House is Not at Home
06 – Bitter With The Sweet
07 – That Old Devil Moon
08 – The Lies of Handsome Men
09 – You Are There / Why Did I Choose You?
10 – The Way He Captured Me
11 – Overjoyed
12 – Stand Behind Me
13 – First Day in August


Christy Baron – Vocals
David Finck – Bass
David Mann – Saxophone, flute
Paul Bollenback – Guitar
Graham Hawthorne – Drums

Produced by David Finck and David Chesky
Recorded by Barry Wolifson
Edited and mastered by Nicholas Prout

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Recorded June 17-20, 2002 at St. Peter’s Church in Chelsea, NYC


%d bloggers like this: