Skip to content

Christy Baron – Steppin’ (2000) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Christy Baron – Steppin’ (2000)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:21 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Chesky Records

Raised in Pittsburgh, jazz and pop singer and actress Christy Baron began her singing career as a cabaret vocalist and piano player while majoring in music at Carnegie-Mellon University in Pittsburgh. After moving to New York in 1984, she began working as a piano player in smaller jazz clubs. Her second release for CHESKY RECORDS, Steppin’, includes tunes by Peter Gabriel, the Beatles, Prince, and the Atlanta Rhythm Section. It wouldn’t be fair to characterize Baron as a straight-ahead jazz singer, but rather, she proudly calls herself an interpreter of music, and she fuses many different styles — funk, world music, and even electronica influences — into her approach to recording.

When jazz singers interpret popular music, their main source is often the great standards and Broadway music of the 1920’s, 1930’s and 1940’s. Turning most of their attention to George and Ira Gershwin, Cole Porter, Irving Berlin and other famous composers of that era, they tend to ignore the rock and R&B songs of the last 40 years, assuming they are irrelevant to jazz singing. Yet worthwhile popular music didn’t die with the Gershwin Brothers — great popular songs continue to be written, and on her second Chesky album, Steppin’, Christy Baron demonstrates that the popular music of the 1960’s, 1970’s, 1980’s and 1990’s can, in fact, be relevant to a jazz-oriented vocalist.

01 – Will It Go ‘Round In Circles
02 – Mercy Street
03 – Tomorrow Never Knows
04 – Thieves in the Temple
05 – This Must Be Love
06 – Delays on the Downtown 6
07 – She’s Not There
08 – The Shadow of Your Smile
09 – Is Love Enough
10 – Ain’t No Half Steppin’
11 – Spooky
12 – Nite and Day


%d bloggers like this: