Christoph Pregardien, Michael Gees – Franz Schubert – Winterreise (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/352,8kHz]

Christoph Pregardien, Michael Gees – Franz Schubert – Winterreise (2013
Digital eXtreme Definition FLAC Stereo (tracks) 24-bit/352,8 kHz | Time – 01:10:41 minutes | 4,72 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © Challenge Records / Northstar Recordings
Recorded: Galaxy Studios, Mol, Belgium, 2-5 September 2012

Schubert’s “Winterreise” is one of the most famous song cycles that exist in classical music and musicians take it up again and again because of its beauty, sorrow and depth. It is about life itself and which performer does not want to give his or her opinion on life? Both tenor Christoph Prégardien and pianist Michael Gees have their own vision on the cycle. Playing together, a third view develops, combining their two visions into an exciting interpretation of Winterreise.

In this production the music lover has more ways than one to enjoy this Lieder cycle to the fullest. This luxurious Hybrid Super Audio edition (book SACD) contains song texts with English translations.

“In this work Schubert is taking his protagonist through a bleak and winter-gloomy landscape that has as its premise a longing for death. Slowing down all of the songs is like an egregious sampling of over-acting, getting a point across to an audience deemed stupid and unable to discern subtlety. Moving things along, particularly with such rigorously embracing sound and mellifluously pliant and agreeable singing and playing, makes for an hour or so of musical enthrallment that all lovers of the cycle will embrace wholeheartedly. I loved the cycle of Thomas Meglioranza. This one too, this time for tenor. Ah, such riches! Get them both!” —Steven Ritter

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Winterreise Op. 89, D. 911(1827)
[1] Gute Nacht 5:34
[2] Die Wetterfahne 1:43
[3] Gefrorne Tränen 2:14
[4] Erstarrung 2:57
[5] Der Lindenbaum 4:43
[6] Wasserflut 3:41
[7] Auf dem Flusse 3:26
[8] Rückblick 2:13
[9] Irrlicht 2:39
[10] Rast 3:25
[11] Frühlingstraum 4:14
[12] Einsamkeit 2:56
[13] Die Post 2:23
[14] Der greise Kopf 2:36
[15] Die Krähe 1:57
[16] Letzte Hoffnung 2:09
[17] Im Dorfe 2:53
[18] Der stürmische Morgen 0:50
[19] Täuschung 1:18
[20] Der Wegweiser 4:02
[21] Das Wirthaus 4:54
[22] Mut 1:21
[23] Die Nebensonnen 2:31
[24] Der Leiermann 4:00

Christoph Prégardien, tenor
Michael Gees, piano


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: